neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

30Friday, 30. November 2018, 19:00
Eröffnung: Opening: Exhibition
13Thursday, 13. December 2018, 19:00
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine
Series of events

Series of events: On Bots, Labour and Politics

Saturday, 19 January 2019, 16:00 – 20:00

Adress:nGbK event space 1st floor, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Open:
Language(s): 
  • German
  • English

Entry: free
Organized by: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

Bots and the Political (EN)
16:00-18:30

The scandal about the worldwide influence on elections has brought the topic of 'bots' into the mainstream media. But do we only understand bots as political when they influence the outcome of elections? The voices of digital language assistants or the algorithmically schematized classification of data which is produced by the usage of digital services also have political implications: Values, rights and conditions of existence are under scrutiny. What types of accountability, actionability and recourse are necessary or even possible in a world increasingly organized by algorithms? Is it ultimately (or not?) a political task to regulate the use of new technologies through legislation?

Bots and Labour (DE)
18:30-20:00

Opposed to the efficiency and comfort that the use of bots promises for repetitive workflows there is a whole series of questions: Do machines take away our work? Does an algorithm make personnel decisions that are more reasonable? Does one communicate with a person or with a machine in a customer service? Is a (ro)bot an assistant or a competitor? The state of development of artificial intelligence is still far from making human work redundant. But who trains the self-learning systems and under what premises? What about working conditions in the huge sector of so-called “human bots” (both economically and in terms of employed people)?


Panel with:

Varoon Bashyakarla is a statistician/data scientist and researcher at Tactical Tech Collective. He investigates how personal information is used for political influence in the 21st century. He is particularly interested in questions of ethics that are embedded in data, in algorithmic discrimination, and in ensuring our digital technologies respect and preserve the dignity of democratic process.

Anna Bromley
, artist, develops exhibitions, installations, performances, texts, radio conversations, and radio plays. Her primary interest is in breaches and interruptions in representative ways of speaking and talking.

Egemen Demirci is an artist whose practice embodies a critical approach to the notion of reality in algorithm-based environments. He works with a range of media to investigate the conceptual boundaries of abstraction, space, and exhibition making practices.

Jun. Prof. Dr. Ulrike Klinger is a junior professor for Digital Communication with a special focus on Gender Aspects at the Institute for Journalism and Communication Studies at the Free University of Berlin  and the head of the research group “News, campaigns, and the rationality of public discourse ” at the Weizenbaum Institute for Networked Society.

Sascha Pohflepp lives and works in Berlin and Southern California. He is an artist and researcher whose interests extend across both historical aspects and visions of the future. His practice often involves collaboration with artists and researchers, creating work on subjects ranging from synthetic biology and artificial intelligence to geopolitics and space exploration.

Dr. phil. Dipl.-Des. Florian A. Schmidt is a Professor of Design Concept and Media Theory at the HTW Dresden. He is co-author of “Crowdwork––Back to the Future?” (2014) and author of “Der Job als Gig––Studie zur Gig Economy in Berlin” (2017) together with ArbeitGestalten. He is currently researching the role of human labor in the production of training data for autonomous driving.

Publication

  
ISBN:

Further Dates

30Friday, 30. November 2018, 19:00
Eröffnung: Opening: Exhibition
13Thursday, 13. December 2018, 19:00
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine

neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

30Freitag, 30. November 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Eröffnung: Opening: Ausstellung
13Donnerstag, 13. Dezember 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine
Veranstaltungsreihe

Veranstaltungsreihe: Von Bots, Arbeit und Politik

Samstag, 19. Januar 2019, 16.00 Uhr – 20.00 Uhr

Adresse: nGbK, Veranstaltungsraum, 1. OG, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Geöffnet:
Sprache(n): 
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Eintritt: frei
Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

Bots und das Politische (EN)
16-18.30 Uhr

Der Skandal um die weltweite Beeinflussung von Wahlen hat das Thema “Bots” in die Mainstream-Medien gebracht. Doch verstehen wir Bots erst dann als politisch, wenn sie Einfluss auf Wahlentscheidungen nehmen? Auch die Stimmen digitaler Sprachassistenten oder die algorithmisch schematisierte Klassifizierung von Daten, die wir mit der Nutzung digitaler Dienste produzieren, haben politische Implikationen: Werte, Rechte und Existenzbedingungen stehen auf dem Prüfstand. Welche Arten von Rechenschaftspflicht, Handlungsfähigkeit und Rekurs sind notwendig oder gar möglich in einer zunehmend von Algorithmen organisierten Lebenswelt? Ist es zuletzt (oder auch nicht?) eine Aufgabe der Politik, durch die Gesetzgebung den Umgang mit und den Einsatz von neuen Technologien zu regulieren?

Bots und Arbeit (DE)
18.30-20 Uhr

In der Arbeitswelt stehen der Effizienz, die der Einsatz von Bots zur Erledigung repetitiver Arbeitsabläufe verspricht, eine ganze Reihe von Fragen gegenüber: Nehmen Maschinen uns die Arbeit weg? Trifft ein Algorithmus fairere Personalentscheidungen? Kommuniziere ich im Kundenservice mit einem Menschen oder mit einer Maschine? Ist ein (Ro)Bot(er) Assistenz oder Konkurrenz? Noch ist der Entwicklungsstand künstlicher Intelligenz weit davon entfernt, menschliche Arbeit überflüssig zu machen. Doch wer trainiert die selbstlernenden Systeme und unter welchen Bedingungen? Wie steht es um die Arbeitsbedingungen im riesigen Sektor der so genannten „Human Bots“ (wirtschaftlich als auch hinsichtlich der beschäftigten Menschen)?


Diskussionen mit:

Varoon Bashyakarla, Statistiker und Forscher bei Tactical Tech Collective. Er untersucht, wie persönliche Informationen im 21. Jahrhundert für politische Einflussnahme genutzt werden und befasst sich u.a. mit ethischen Fragen, algorithmischer Diskriminierung und der Gewährleistung demokratischer Prozesse.

Anna Bromley, Künstlerin, entwickelt Ausstellungen, Installationen, Performances, Texte, Radiogespräche und -stücke. Ihr Interesse gilt Brüchen und Aussetzern in repräsentativen Rede- und Sprechweisen.

Egemen Demirci, Künstler, verfolgt einen kritischen Ansatz gegenüber dem Wirklichkeitsverständnis in algorithmischen Umgebungen. Er arbeitet medienübergreifend, um die konzeptuellen Grenzen von Abstraktion, Raum und Ausstellungspraxis zu erforschen.

Jun. Prof. Dr. Ulrike Klinger, Juniorprofessorin für Digitale Kommunikation unter Berücksichtigung von Genderaspekten am Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin, Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe „Nachrichten, Kampagnen und die Rationalität öffentlicher Diskurse“ am Weizenbaum-Institut für die vernetzte Gesellschaft.

Sascha Pohflepp, Künstler und Forscher mit Fokus sowohl auf historische Aspekte als auch auf Zukunftsvisionen. Er arbeitet kollaborativ zu Themen wie synthetischer Biologie und künstlicher Intelligenz, Geopolitik und Weltraumforschung.

Dr. phil. Dipl.-Des. Florian A. Schmidt, Professor für Designkonzeption und Medientheorie an der HTW Dresden. Er ist unter anderem Ko-Autor von „Crowdwork - Zurück in die Zukunft?“ (2014) und zusammen mit ArbeitGestalten Autor von „Der Job als Gig - Studie zur Gig Economy in Berlin“ (2017). Aktuell forscht er zur Rolle  menschlicher Arbeit bei der Produktion von Trainingsdaten für das autonome Fahren.

 

Publikation

  
ISBN:

Weitere Termine

30Freitag, 30. November 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Eröffnung: Opening: Ausstellung
13Donnerstag, 13. Dezember 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine