neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

30Friday, 30. November 2018, 19.00h
Eröffnung: Opening: Exhibition
13Thursday, 13. December 2018, 19.00h
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine
Exhibition

Exhibition: The Influencing Machine

Saturday, 01 December 2018 — Sunday, 20 January 2019

The Influencing Machine

Adress:nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Open: Daily 12:00-19:00, Wed-Fri 12:00-20:00
Language(s): 
  • German
  • English

Entry: free
Organized by: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

The Influencing Machine

(The exhibition is closed on 24, 25, 26 and 31 Dec 2018 as well as on 1 Jan 2019)

Artists: Anna Bromley, Kajsa Dahlberg, Egemen Demirci, Fabien Giraud & Raphaël Siboni, Fokus Grupa, Eva & Franco Mattes, Mimi Onouha & Mother Cyborg, Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken, Tactical Tech, Jane Topping, Sarah Tripp, Clement Valla, Laura Yuile


Bots (from robot and Czech robota, socage, forced labor) are inconspicuous computer programs that perform tasks automatically.

Bots manipulate the masses, turn fake news into facts, supersede human labour, colonise our objects and lead us into temptation: Based on digital code, bots perform thousands of minute routines which supplement and at times displace human agency and labour, thus shaping virtual and analog structures. They are often given human features––names, voices, bodies on occasion. Yet even when remaining invisible, they are increasingly becoming part of our everyday.

The Influencing Machine examines these diffusions and formations. Clustered around a series of famous bots, the exhibition assembles contemporary artistic positions examining the automation and datafication of our life worlds and work environments. Here, bots are understood as socio-technical phenomena; their efficacies requiring and provoking novel and manifold relations and imaginations:

How do bots and data form politics? In what ways do they transform political orderings of participation, accountability and knowledge? Why do racist or sexist logics reproduce and intensify on digital platforms, social networks, and data-driven expert systems? What does it mean for the value of labour and, more generally, human agency if transactions, communication, and decisions are increasingly carried out by fully automated devices? Which cultural imaginations shape the design and function of human-machine interfaces?

The exhibition provides insights into the socio-material ecologies of this new influencing machine and seeks to problematize the figure of the bot beyond the dominant narratives of society and technology.

 


nGbK project group: Vladimir Čajkovac, Kristina Kramer, Bettina Lehmann, Sophie Macpherson, Tahani Nadim, Neli Wagner


Supported by the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, the Institute for European Ethnology, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and the Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage(CARMAH) – especially Tahani Nadim, Juniorprofessor for Socio-cultural Anthropology and head of the Department Humanities of nature (MfN)

Publication

  The Influencing Machine
ISBN: 978-3-938515-74-7

Further Dates

30Friday, 30. November 2018, 19.00h
Eröffnung: Opening: Exhibition
13Thursday, 13. December 2018, 19.00h
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine

neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

30Freitag, 30. November 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Eröffnung: Opening: Ausstellung
13Donnerstag, 13. Dezember 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine
20Sonntag, 20. Januar 2019, 16.00 Uhr
Veranstaltungsreihe: Series of events: Bots and Labour
Ausstellung

Ausstellung: The Influencing Machine

Samstag, 01. Dezember 2018 — Sonntag, 20. Januar 2019

The Influencing Machine

Adresse: nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Geöffnet:Täglich 12-19 Uhr, Mi-Fr 12-20 Uhr
Sprache(n): 
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Eintritt: frei
Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

The Influencing Machine

(Die Ausstellung ist geschlossen am 24., 25., 26. und 31. Dez 2018 sowie am 1. Jan 2019)

Künstler_innen: Anna Bromley, Kajsa Dahlberg, Egemen Demirci, Fabien Giraud & Raphaël Siboni, Fokus Grupa, Eva & Franco Mattes, Mimi Onouha & Mother Cyborg, Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken, Tactical Tech, Jane Topping, Sarah Tripp, Clement Valla, Laura Yuile


Bots (von englisch robot, Roboter, und tschechisch robota, Zwangsdienst) sind unscheinbare Computerprogramme, die automatisch Aufgaben erledigen.

Bots manipulieren die Massen, verwandeln fake news in Fakten, ersetzen menschliche Arbeitskräfte, kolonisieren die Objektwelt und führen uns in Versuchung: Auf Basis digitaler Codes erledigen sie tausendfach minutiöse Routinen, die menschliche Handlungs- und Arbeitsschritte ergänzen bzw. ersetzen und damit virtuelle wie analoge Strukturen prägen. Oft erhalten Bots menschliche Attribute – Namen, Stimmen, gar Körper. Aber auch wenn sie unsichtbar bleiben, werden sie zunehmend Teil unseres Alltags.  

The Influencing Machine geht diesen Durchdringungen und Prägungen nach. Entlang namhafter Bots versammelt die Ausstellung zeitgenössische künstlerische Positionen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise mit der Automatisierung und Verdatung unserer Lebens- und Arbeitswelten befassen. Bots sollen hier als sozio-technische Phänomene begriffen werden. Ihre Wirkmacht bedingt neuartige und vielfältige Zusammenhänge und Imaginationen:
Wie wird mit Bots und Daten Politik gemacht und wie verändern sich dadurch politische Ordnungen der Teilhabe, der Rechenschaft und des Wissens? Warum reproduzieren und verstärken sich rassistische oder sexistische Logiken auf digitalen Plattformen, in sozialen Netzwerken und datengetriebenen Expertensystemen? Was bedeutet es für die Bewertung von Arbeit und menschlichem Handeln allgemein, wenn Transaktionen, Kommunikation und Entscheidungen vermehrt von vollautomatisierten Apparaten ausgeführt werden? Welche kulturellen Imaginationen prägen die Gestaltung und Funktionsweisen von Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen?

Die Ausstellung gibt Einblicke in die sozio-materiellen Ökologien dieser neuen Beeinflussungsmaschine und versucht abseits von dominanten Erzählungen über Technologie und Gesellschaft, die Figur des Bots zu problematisieren.



nGbK Projektgruppe: Vladimir Čajkovac, Kristina Kramer, Bettina Lehmann, Sophie Macpherson, Tahani Nadim, Neli Wagner


Mit Unterstützung des Museum für Naturkunde Berlin und des Instituts für Europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin/Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage (CARMAH) - insbesondere Tahani Nadim, Juniorprofessorin für Europäische Ethnologie und Leiterin der Abteilung Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften der Natur (MfN)


Publikation

  The Influencing Machine
ISBN: 978-3-938515-74-7

Weitere Termine

30Freitag, 30. November 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Eröffnung: Opening: Ausstellung
13Donnerstag, 13. Dezember 2018, 19.00 Uhr
Buchvorstellung: Book launch: The Influencing Machine
20Sonntag, 20. Januar 2019, 16.00 Uhr
Veranstaltungsreihe: Series of events: Bots and Labour