neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

15Wednesday, 15 September 2021Wednesday, 15. September 2021, 12:00
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Exhibition
25Saturday, 25 September 2021Saturday, 25. September 2021, 14:00
Ausstellungsführung: Guided tour: with »Miss DDR«
26Sunday, 26 September 2021Sunday, 26. September 2021, 14:00
Ausstellungsführung: Guided tour: with »Miss DDR«
29Wednesday, 29 September 2021Wednesday, 29. September 2021, 19:00
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« by Sabine Reinfeld
29Wednesday, 29 September 2021Wednesday, 29. September 2021, 20:30
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« by Sabine Reinfeld
30Thursday, 30 September 2021Thursday, 30. September 2021, 12:00 – 14:00
Ausstellung: Exhibition: Public re/deinstallation
30Thursday, 30 September 2021Thursday, 30. September 2021, 14:00
Ausstellungsführung: Guided tour: case study »Marlboro Man«
4Monday, 04 October 2021Monday, 04. October 2021, 20:00
Film und Gespräch: Film and talk: »NEUBAU«
13Wednesday, 13 October 2021Wednesday, 13. October 2021, 19:00
Präsentation: Presentation: »Stasisauna« with Wolfgang H Scholz and Elske Rosenfeld
16Saturday, 16 October 2021Saturday, 16. October 2021, 14:00
Tour: Tour: of the U144 Untergrundmuseum with Rainer Görß
16Saturday, 16 October 2021Saturday, 16. October 2021, 17:00
Tour: Tour: of the U144 Untergrundmuseum with Rainer Görß
1Monday, 01 November 2021Monday, 01. November 2021, 16:00 – 20:30
Versammlung: Assembly: »Resonanz« with Anna Zett and Hermann Heisig
Exhibition

Exhibition: … oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende

Thursday, 16 September 2021 — Sunday, 07 November 2021

… oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende

Address:nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Open: Wed-Mon 12:00-18:00, Fri 12:00-20:00
Language(s): 
  • German
  • English

Entry: free
Organized by: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

… oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende

Case studies and contributions by: Bakri Bakhit, Tina Bara, Nadja Buttendorf, Can Candan, Yvon Chabrowski, Harun Farocki, Rainer Görß/Ania Rudolph, Jörg Herold, Bernd Hiepe, Margret Hoppe, Susanne Huth, Wilhelm Klotzek/Peter Woelck, Silke Koch, Eric Meier, Minh Duc Pham, Andrea Pichl, David Polzin, Sabine Reinfeld, Sophie Reinhold, Elske Rosenfeld, Tucké Royale, Wolfgang H Scholz, Gabriele Stötzer, Achim Valbracht, Anna Voswinckel/Beatrice E. Stammer, Suse Weber, Anna Zett/Hermann Heisig

Through artistic and curatorial case studies, this research and exhibition project investigates the »Nachwende« (»post-unification«) – the 1990s, a time period initially assumed to be a transitional phase. The project explores how artists adapted their working methods to the new situation after 1990, which methods and motifs became illegible in this »East-West« clash of art concepts and systems, and how these are being taken up again by younger generations. The exhibition is devoted to East German artists' search for a new and distinctive vocabulary, a search that continues – in a »Nachwende« period understood in the broader sense to extend to this day.

Indications of this continuing »Nachwende« can be found in the ways East German artists categorise themselves: exemplified by their self-identification as first, second, third generation artists or in their ironic self-designations as Ossi, ex-Ossi, or Wossi, as well as by distinctions such as transfer, exile, and quota East Germans (Yana Milev). These self-categorisations have recently broadened to include comparisons of East German and migrant experiences (Naika Foroutan) and have been rendered more complex by the description of East Germans as inherently heterogeneous (Peggy Piesche, among others).

In this process of self-determination, also experienced and mediated by artists, recurring methods can be identified over the last three decades: the use of biographical references, recourse to private archives and work inventories of the artists' own families, and the use of documents from state surveillance as now publicly accessible – if not always unproblematic – sources. Such assertions of the artistic self are often preceded by various experiences of overwriting: through the deliberate destruction and non-recording of works, through their devaluation into mere historical artefacts, through the dissolution of archives and the disappearance of works into storage. Artists have also appropriated this kind of overwriting as a technique - the invention of fictitious or individual sources or by transferring these methods into their own artistic practices.

The regularly updated blog nachwendefallstudien.de is a digital supplement to the exhibition; it contains descriptions of the case studies and the program for each week as well as further research materials and a series of texts and conversations created over the course of the project.

Case studies
Over the course of the two-year project, eight thematic case studies emerged, their foci and titles distilled through processes of collaborative research. From these case studies, seven are assigned to one exhibition week each:
»Paradies Leerstand« [Paradise vacancy] (1622 Sept), »Muttiland Revisited« (2329 Sept), »Marlboro Man« (30 Sept6 Oct), »Stasisauna« (713 Oct), »Depot Bilderstau« [Depot image backlog] (1420 Oct), »Wessiwerdung« [Becoming Wessi] (2127 Oct), »Ossiwerdung« [Becoming Ossi] (28 Oct7 Nov).

Without claiming to map or depict the art of the Nachwende in its entirety, the case studies point to an ongoing search for a new and distinct language, as well as for new images and methods. Constellations of thematically linked works can be seen as prompts for a conversation about artistic practices of the last decades.

As an additional case study spanning several weeks, the exhibition focuses on the institutional history of the nGbK itself – in its (not entirely conflict-free) pioneering role as a mediator between West German and East German art: a survey of all exhibitions related to the GDR since the nGbK’s founding in 1969 highlights the shifting areas of encounter. Developed by Anna Voswinckel in collaboration with Beatrice E. Stammer, a documentation of the nGbK exhibition Außerhalb von Mittendrin [Outside of Centre] (1991), an interdisciplinary exhibition, film, literature, music, and theatre project that offered a feminist perspective on the Nachwende, circulates through the exhibition.

Nachwende-Klappe
The exhibition scenography »Nachwende-Klappe« developed by Suse Weber (*1970, Leipzig) is an emblematic methodological landscape that explicitly unfolds certain recurring discourses and metaphors from the art field from 1990 onwards. It refers, for example, to the 1990s art-theoretical debates on the »white cube« versus the »black box« as a fundamental feature distinguishing between the presentation of Eastern and Western European art, to green-screen technology as a commonly used tool for the exchange of figures and backgrounds, or to the frequent obliteration of GDR history in cultural spaces and institutions. Suse Weber's opening up of her own work archive, prepared expressly for the exhibition, to be pasted over, renders the »Nachwende-Klappe« a space of a deliberately chosen practice of overwriting. Intended as a counter-methodology, this scenography activates a series of movements by means of which the exhibition transforms itself over the seven weeks.  The works are initially situated in a storage depot, from which they are taken and placed in the exhibition space either as temporary hangs or as permanent paste-overs as part of the week-long case studies. The active use of individual »Klappen« (»flaps«) as working spaces for two new productions refers to artistic practices of the »Zweiten Öffentlichkeit der späten DDR« (»Second public sphere of the late GDR«) (Angelika Richter), which did away with the separation between working space and exhibition space. The derivation of the »Nachwende-Klappe«, is expounded in a video by Suse Weber accessible via the blog.


nGbK project group: Bakri Bakhit, Elske Rosenfeld, Wolfgang H Scholz, Anna Voswinckel, Suse Weber

 

Partner of Berlin Art Week

      

Publication

  
ISBN:

Further Dates

15Wednesday, 15 September 2021Wednesday, 15. September 2021, 12:00
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Exhibition
25Saturday, 25 September 2021Saturday, 25. September 2021, 14:00
Ausstellungsführung: Guided tour: with »Miss DDR«
26Sunday, 26 September 2021Sunday, 26. September 2021, 14:00
Ausstellungsführung: Guided tour: with »Miss DDR«
29Wednesday, 29 September 2021Wednesday, 29. September 2021, 19:00
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« by Sabine Reinfeld
29Wednesday, 29 September 2021Wednesday, 29. September 2021, 20:30
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« by Sabine Reinfeld
30Thursday, 30 September 2021Thursday, 30. September 2021, 12:00 – 14:00
Ausstellung: Exhibition: Public re/deinstallation
30Thursday, 30 September 2021Thursday, 30. September 2021, 14:00
Ausstellungsführung: Guided tour: case study »Marlboro Man«
4Monday, 04 October 2021Monday, 04. October 2021, 20:00
Film und Gespräch: Film and talk: »NEUBAU«
13Wednesday, 13 October 2021Wednesday, 13. October 2021, 19:00
Präsentation: Presentation: »Stasisauna« with Wolfgang H Scholz and Elske Rosenfeld
16Saturday, 16 October 2021Saturday, 16. October 2021, 14:00
Tour: Tour: of the U144 Untergrundmuseum with Rainer Görß
16Saturday, 16 October 2021Saturday, 16. October 2021, 17:00
Tour: Tour: of the U144 Untergrundmuseum with Rainer Görß
1Monday, 01 November 2021Monday, 01. November 2021, 16:00 – 20:30
Versammlung: Assembly: »Resonanz« with Anna Zett and Hermann Heisig

neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

15Mittwoch, 15 September 2021Mittwoch, 15. September 2021, 12:00 Uhr
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Ausstellung
29Mittwoch, 29 September 2021Mittwoch, 29. September 2021, 19:00 Uhr
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« von Sabine Reinfeld
29Mittwoch, 29 September 2021Mittwoch, 29. September 2021, 20:30 Uhr
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« von Sabine Reinfeld
4Montag, 04 Oktober 2021Montag, 04. Oktober 2021, 20:00 Uhr
Film und Gespräch: Film and talk: »NEUBAU«
13Mittwoch, 13 Oktober 2021Mittwoch, 13. Oktober 2021, 19:00 Uhr
Präsentation: Presentation: »Stasisauna« mit Wolfgang H Scholz und Elske Rosenfeld
16Samstag, 16 Oktober 2021Samstag, 16. Oktober 2021, 14:00 Uhr
Tour: Tour: im U144 Untergrundmuseum mit Rainer Görß
16Samstag, 16 Oktober 2021Samstag, 16. Oktober 2021, 17:00 Uhr
Tour: Tour: im U144 Untergrundmuseum mit Rainer Görß
1Montag, 01 November 2021Montag, 01. November 2021, 16:00 Uhr – 20:30 Uhr
Versammlung: Assembly: »Resonanz« mit Anna Zett und Hermann Heisig
Ausstellung

Ausstellung: … oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende

Donnerstag, 16. September 2021 — Sonntag, 07. November 2021

… oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende

Adresse: nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Geöffnet:Mi-Mo 12-18 Uhr, Fr 12-20 Uhr
Sprache(n): 
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Eintritt: frei
Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

… oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende

Fallstudien und Beiträge von: Bakri Bakhit, Tina Bara, Nadja Buttendorf, Can Candan, Yvon Chabrowski, Harun Farocki, Rainer Görß/Ania Rudolph, Jörg Herold, Bernd Hiepe, Margret Hoppe, Susanne Huth, Wilhelm Klotzek/Peter Woelck, Silke Koch, Eric Meier, Minh Duc Pham, Andrea Pichl, David Polzin, Sabine Reinfeld, Sophie Reinhold, Elske Rosenfeld, Tucké Royale, Wolfgang H Scholz, Gabriele Stötzer, Achim Valbracht, Anna Voswinckel/Beatrice E. Stammer, Suse Weber, Anna Zett/Hermann Heisig

Das Recherche- und Ausstellungsprojekt untersucht anhand von künstlerischen und kuratorischen Fallstudien die »Nachwende« – einen zunächst als Übergangsphase der 1990er Jahre angenommenen Zeitraum. Das Projekt erforscht, wie Künstler_innen ihre Arbeitsweisen auf die neue Situation ab 1990 anwandten, welche Methoden und Motive in diesem Aufeinandertreffen der Kunstbegriffe und Systeme »Ost-West« unlesbar wurden und wie diese von jüngeren Generationen wieder aufgegriffen werden. Die Ausstellung ist somit jener Suche ostdeutscher Künstler_innen nach einem neuen und eigenen Vokabular gewidmet, die in einer im weiteren Sinne verstandenen »Nachwende« bis heute andauert.

Indizien für diese fortdauernde »Nachwende« lassen sich in den Selbstkategorisierungen ostdeutscher Künstler_innen finden: veranschaulicht am Beispiel ihrer Selbstnummerierungen als erste, zweite, dritte Künstler_innen-Generation oder ihrer Selbstkarikaturisierungen als Ossi, Ex-Ossi oder Wossi, sowie von Unterscheidungen wie Transfer-, Exil- und Quoten-Ostdeutsche (Yana Milev). Diese Selbstkategorisierung wurde jüngst durch den Vergleich ostdeutscher und migrantischer Erfahrungen (Naika Foroutan) erweitert und durch die Beschreibung der Ostdeutschen als in sich heterogen (u. a. Peggy Piesche) verkompliziert.

In dem auch von Künstler_innen erlebten und vermittelten Prozess der Selbstbestimmung lassen sich über die letzten drei Jahrzehnte wiederkehrende Methoden ausmachen: die Verwendung biografischer Referenzen, der Rückgriff auf Privatarchive und Werkbestände der eigenen Familien sowie die Verwendung von Dokumenten aus staatlicher Überwachung als nun öffentlich zugängliche – wenn auch nicht immer unproblematische – Quellen. Solchen künstlerischen Selbstvergewisserungen gehen oft mehrfache Überschreibungserfahrungen voraus: durch die gezielte Zerstörung und Nichterfassung von Arbeiten, durch ihre Abwertung zu reinen historischen Zeugnissen, durch die Auflösung von Archiven und das Verschwinden von Werken in den Depots. Diese Art der Überschreibung haben sich Künstler_innen auch als Methode angeeignet – als Erfindung von fiktiven oder individuellen Quellen oder als einen Methodentransfer in die eigene künstlerische Praxis.

Der regelmäßig aktualisierte Blog nachwendefallstudien.de ist die digitale Ergänzung der Ausstellung und beinhaltet neben einer Beschreibung der Fallstudien und dem Programm der jeweiligen Woche weiteres Recherchematerial und eine Reihe von im Zuge des Projektes entstandenen Texten und Gesprächen.

Fallstudien
In dem zweijährigen Projekt sind acht thematische Fallstudien entstanden, deren Fokusse und Titel sich in der gemeinsamen Recherche herauskristallisierten. Von diesen Fallstudien sind sieben jeweils einer Ausstellungswoche zugeordnet:
»Paradies Leerstand« (16.22. Sept), »Muttiland Revisited« (23.29. Sept), »Marlboro Man« (30. Sept6. Okt), »Stasisauna« (7.13. Okt), »Depot Bilderstau« (14.20. Okt), »Wessiwerdung« (21.27. Okt), »Ossiwerdung« (28. Okt7. Nov)

Ohne jeden Anspruch, die Kunst der Nachwende in ihrer Gänze zu kartieren oder abzubilden, verweisen die Fallstudien auf eine noch andauernde Suche nach einer neuen, eigenen Sprache und nach neuen Bildern und Methoden. Sie können als Vorschläge angesehen werden, um zu künstlerischen Praxen der letzten Jahrzehnte anhand einer Reihe von thematisch miteinander verknüpften Arbeiten ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Als weitere wochenübergreifende Fallstudie rückt die Ausstellung die Institutionsgeschichte der nGbK selbst – in ihrer (nicht immer konfliktfreien) Vorreiter_innenrolle als Vermittlerin zwischen West- und Ostkunst – in den Fokus: Eine Übersicht aller Ausstellungen mit DDR-Bezug seit der Gründung 1969 lässt Konjunkturen der Auseinandersetzung sichtbar werden. Eine von Anna Voswinckel in Zusammenarbeit mit Beatrice E. Stammer gestaltete Dokumentation der nGbK-Ausstellung Außerhalb von Mittendrin (1991), die als interdisziplinäres Ausstellungs-, Film-, Literatur-, Musik- und Theaterprojekt eine feministische Perspektive auf die Nachwende bot, zirkuliert durch die Ausstellung.

Nachwende-Klappe
Die von Suse Weber (*1970, Leipzig) entwickelte Ausstellungsszenografie »Nachwende-Klappe« ist eine emblematische Methodenlandschaft, die bestimmte wiederkehrende Diskurse und Metaphern aus dem Kunstfeld ab 1990 buchstäblich aufklappt. Sie bezieht sich zum Beispiel auf die kunsttheoretischen Debatten der 1990er Jahre zum »White Cube« und zur »Black Box« als grundsätzlichem Unterscheidungsmerkmal der Präsentation ost- und westeuropäischer Kunst, auf die Green-Screen-Technologie als geläufiges Werkzeug zum beliebigen Austausch von Figuren und Hintergründen oder auf die häufige Auslöschung von DDR-Geschichte in kulturellen Räumen und Institutionen. Suse Webers Freigabe ihres eigens für die Ausstellung präparierten Werkarchivs zur Überklebung macht die »Nachwende-Klappe« selbst zum Raum einer hier bewusst gewählten Praxis der Überschreibung. Diese Szenografie aktiviert im Sinne einer solchen Gegenmethodik eine Reihe von Bewegungen, mittels derer sich die Ausstellung über sieben Wochen wandelt. Die Arbeiten der Ausstellung befinden sich zunächst in einem Depot, aus dem die Werke entweder als temporäre Hängungen oder als permanente Überklebungen im Rahmen der einwöchigen Fallstudien in die Ausstellung platziert werden. Die aktive Nutzung einzelner »Klappen« als Arbeitsräume für zwei Neuproduktionen verweist auf künstlerische Praxen der »Zweiten Öffentlichkeit der späten DDR« (Angelika Richter), in der die Trennung von Arbeits- und Ausstellungsraum aufgehoben war.
Zur Herleitung der »Nachwende-Klappe« gibt ein Video von Suse Weber Auskunft, das über den Blog zugänglich gemacht wird.

 

nGbK-Projektgruppe: Bakri Bakhit, Elske Rosenfeld, Wolfgang H Scholz, Anna Voswinckel, Suse Weber

 

Partnerin der Berlin Art Week

     

Publikation

  
ISBN:

Weitere Termine

15Mittwoch, 15 September 2021Mittwoch, 15. September 2021, 12:00 Uhr
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Ausstellung
29Mittwoch, 29 September 2021Mittwoch, 29. September 2021, 19:00 Uhr
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« von Sabine Reinfeld
29Mittwoch, 29 September 2021Mittwoch, 29. September 2021, 20:30 Uhr
Performance: Performance: »Miss DDR« von Sabine Reinfeld
4Montag, 04 Oktober 2021Montag, 04. Oktober 2021, 20:00 Uhr
Film und Gespräch: Film and talk: »NEUBAU«
13Mittwoch, 13 Oktober 2021Mittwoch, 13. Oktober 2021, 19:00 Uhr
Präsentation: Presentation: »Stasisauna« mit Wolfgang H Scholz und Elske Rosenfeld
16Samstag, 16 Oktober 2021Samstag, 16. Oktober 2021, 14:00 Uhr
Tour: Tour: im U144 Untergrundmuseum mit Rainer Görß
16Samstag, 16 Oktober 2021Samstag, 16. Oktober 2021, 17:00 Uhr
Tour: Tour: im U144 Untergrundmuseum mit Rainer Görß
1Montag, 01 November 2021Montag, 01. November 2021, 16:00 Uhr – 20:30 Uhr
Versammlung: Assembly: »Resonanz« mit Anna Zett und Hermann Heisig