neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

10Friday, 10 June 2022Friday, 10. June 2022
Eröffnung: Opening: of the exhibition
11Saturday, 11 June 2022Saturday, 11. June 2022
Tour: Tour: The Money Tree (Berlin)
18Saturday, 18 June 2022Saturday, 18. June 2022
Tour: Tour: Taube Erde (Erzgebirge)
25Saturday, 25 June 2022Saturday, 25. June 2022
Tour: Tour: Am Ende Landschaft (Lausitz)
2Saturday, 02 July 2022Saturday, 02. July 2022, 14:00
Panel: Panel: Forum "POWER BANK"
Tours, exhibition, web repository

Tours, exhibition, web repository: The Driving Factor

Saturday, 11 June 2022 — Saturday, 27 August 2022

The Driving Factor

Address:station urbaner kulturen, Auerbacher Ring 41, 12619 Berlin (Entrance: Kastanienboulevard, next to Lebenshilfe e.V.)
Open: See announcement*
Language(s): 
  • German
  • English

Entry: free
Organized by: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

The Driving Factor

Tours, exhibition, web repository

Participants: Ana Alenso, Cristóbal Bonelli (University of Amsterdam, Principal investigator ERC Worlds of Lithium), Inge Broska, Helmuth Albrecht (TU Bergakademie Freiberg), Aurora Castillo, Oscar Choque (Ayni, Verein für Ressourcengerechtigkeit e.V.), Constanze Fischbeck, Michelle Geraerts (Worlds of Lithium ERC, University of Amsterdam), Eva Hertzsch & Adam Page mit Mozart Schule Berlin und Victor-Klemperer-Kolleg Berlin, Sonja Hornung, Manu Hoyer (Bürgerinitiative Grünheide, tbc), knowbotiq (Yvonne Wilhelm, Christian Huebler), Susan Newman (The Open University), Jan Müggenburg (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg), Canay Özden-Schilling (National University of Singapore), Heidemarie Schröder (Wassertafel Berlin Brandenburg), Susanne Reumschüssel (Industriesalon Schöneweide), Andrea Riedel (Stadt- und Bergbaumuseum Freiberg), Leni Roller, Thomas Turnbull (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte), Jens Weber (Grüne Liga Osterzgebirge e.V.), Jack Wolf

 

What fuels the power that is accrued through the storage of energy? The Driving Factor was instigated in response to the contradictory reactions of politics and civil society when a Tesla Gigafactory was constructed in Grünheide, Brandenburg. Local and national politicians celebrated the factory’s pioneering work in apparently environmentally-friendly technology, as well as its creation of new jobs. At the same time, countless objections pointed towards grave repercussions for already-depleted groundwater reserves, and argued against the clearing of the forest. These were largely ignored or even inhibited. Criticism of future environmental collateral during the production process, as well as concerns regarding working conditions and further environmental damage along transnational supply chains, were considered to be irrelevant. Is the promise of “green” mobility, which goes hand-in-hand with the promise of a “green” transition globally, simply a cover-up for profound violations of ecosystems and civil rights?

Both promises—that of electric mobility and that of the energy transition—have one object in common: the battery. The Driving Factor takes the lithium battery, viewed as a key storage technology for “green” energy, as the starting point for multi-disciplinary and artistic investigations. These question the narrative that the battery is a storage block providing harmless energy to everyone, everywhere—whether for mobile phones, cars, or the stabilisation of the power grid. Working from local contexts, The Driving Factor seeks to establish links to the global lithium supply chain, while highlighting intransparent and often environmentally damaging practices of raw material extraction. In doing so, it draws attention to the appropriation of natural and human forms of labour as a continuation of imperialist and colonial logics—whose repercussions can also be traced in Germany.

In three experimental tours, The Driving Factor invites participants to move through social and geographical landscapes of extraction and accumulation in Berlin, Brandenburg, and Saxony. Conceived of as journeys through both space and thought, each tour follows various cycles in the valorisation and devaluation of raw materials and landscapes through the “energy transition”: from the reactivation of the vision of electric mobility in Berlin-Oberschöneweide and Grünheide, to the resumption of mining in Saxony’s Erzgebirge, where lithium deposits have been found, to the revaluation and production of new landscapes following the phase-out of coal mining in Lusatia.

The project brings together catalysts—artists, cultural workers, scientists, and activists—whose practices deal with opportunities, risks, and contradictions relating to energy’s production, storage, and distribution. By bringing different forms of engagement between visitors and contributors into dialogue with one another, the project complicates often-familiar perspectives, entangling prevailing narratives that frame “centres” as sites where energy is consumed from “peripheries” where it is produced. By facilitating a shared experience of movement through concrete places and landscapes, the project aims to generate practices of collectively speaking, thinking, and perceiving issues that are often otherwise presented in specialist or abstracted contexts, and are rarely considered within a broader frame.

The artistic, scientific, and activist contributions brought together by The Driving Factor address intersectional forms of injustice relating to the production of batteries, from the contamination of ecosystems to related expulsions of humans, animals and plants. Through its focus on the lithium battery, the project illuminates historical continuities of capitalist accumulation in today’s encroaching financialisation of land, natural resources, and work, as well as increasing speculation on the “green economy”. Once promised as a means to stabilise an electricity grid fuelled by renewables, batteries were supposed to contribute to a transition to the emissions-free and resource-saving energy provision that many expected from the European “Green Deal”. At least since the beginning of the war in Ukraine, debates around “energy security” demonstrate that this promise was built on the false assumption of a linear model of growth and investment that is capable of securing nothing more than private capital.

For the duration of the project, the station urbaner kulturen/nGbK Hellersdorf will be transformed into a storage unit in which new and pre-existing artistic works, research materials, podcasts from the working group, as well as incoming impressions of the tours will be displayed in varying assemblages. These stored energies will be gathered by the Forum POWER BANK, which brings the project’s contributors and visitors together in order to discuss alternative spaces for action. It seems clear that it is necessary to make a break from pre-existing power and property relations in the production, distribution and accumulation of energy. How civil society and translocal groups might contribute to this remains an open question.

As a digital repository and storage unit, the website thedrivingfactor.net collects voices, materials, and topics from the project for a wider audience. Here, artistic documentation of the tours will be published and further cross-references made accessible.

 

nGbK project group: Elisa T. Bertuzzo, Jan Lemitz, Daniele Tognozzi, Mercedes Villalba, Neli Wagner

Publication

  
ISBN:

Further Dates

10Friday, 10 June 2022Friday, 10. June 2022
Eröffnung: Opening: of the exhibition
11Saturday, 11 June 2022Saturday, 11. June 2022
Tour: Tour: The Money Tree (Berlin)
18Saturday, 18 June 2022Saturday, 18. June 2022
Tour: Tour: Taube Erde (Erzgebirge)
25Saturday, 25 June 2022Saturday, 25. June 2022
Tour: Tour: Am Ende Landschaft (Lausitz)
2Saturday, 02 July 2022Saturday, 02. July 2022, 14:00
Panel: Panel: Forum "POWER BANK"

neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

10Freitag, 10 Juni 2022Freitag, 10. Juni 2022, 18:00 Uhr
Eröffnung: Opening: Ausstellung
11Samstag, 11 Juni 2022Samstag, 11. Juni 2022
AUSGEBUCHT: FULLY BOOKED: Tour "The Money Tree" (Berlin)
18Samstag, 18 Juni 2022Samstag, 18. Juni 2022
AUSGEBUCHT: FULLY BOOKED: Tour Taube Erde (Erzgebirge)
25Samstag, 25 Juni 2022Samstag, 25. Juni 2022
AUSGEBUCHT: FULLY BOOKED: Tour Am Ende Landschaft (Lausitz)
2Samstag, 02 Juli 2022Samstag, 02. Juli 2022, 14:00 Uhr
Panel: Panel: Forum "POWER BANK"
23Samstag, 23 Juli 2022Samstag, 23. Juli 2022, 16:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Führung und Gespräch: Presentation and talk: Inventur mit Mitgliedern der Projektgruppe
6Samstag, 06 August 2022Samstag, 06. August 2022, 16:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Führung und Gespräch: Presentation and talk: Inventur mit Mitgliedern der Projektgruppe und Gästen
20Samstag, 20 August 2022Samstag, 20. August 2022, 16:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Finissage: Finissage: Letzte Inventur mit Eva Hertzsch, Adam Page und Gästen
Touren, Ausstellung, Web-Repositorium

Touren, Ausstellung, Web-Repositorium: The Driving Factor

Samstag, 11. Juni 2022 — Samstag, 27. August 2022

The Driving Factor

Adresse: station urbaner kulturen, Auerbacher Ring 41, 12619 Berlin (Eingang Kastanienboulevard, neben Lebenshilfe e.V.)
Geöffnet:Do+Sa 15-19 Uhr
Sprache(n): 
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Eintritt: frei
Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

The Driving Factor

Touren, Ausstellung, Web-Repositorium

Teilnehmer_innen: Helmuth Albrecht (TU Bergakademie Freiberg), Ana Alenso, Martin Bertau (TU Bergakademie Freiberg), Cristóbal Bonelli (University of Amsterdam, ERC Worlds of Lithium), Inge Broska, Bürgerinitiative Grünheide, Aurora Castillo, Oscar Choque (Ayni, Verein für Ressourcengerechtigkeit e.V.), Perpeto Dyese Wabanza, Constanze Fischbeck, Michelle Geraerts (University of Amsterdam, ERC Worlds of Lithium), Eva Hertzsch und Adam Page mit Wolfgang-Amadeus-Mozart-Gemeinschaftsschule und Victor-Klemperer-Kolleg Berlin, Sonja Hornung, Esther Kasongo Muntwabane, Maryam Katan, knowbotiq (Yvonne Wilhelm, Christian Huebler), Jan Müggenburg (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg), Éric Mutombo, Susan Newman (The Open University), Canay Özden-Schilling (National University of Singapore), Susanne Reumschüssel (Industriesalon Schöneweide), Andrea Riedel (Stadt- und Bergbaumuseum Freiberg), Leni Roller, Heidemarie Schröder (Wassertafel Berlin Brandenburg), Thomas Turnbull (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte), Jens Weber (Grüne Liga Osterzgebirge e.V.), Jack Wolf, uvm.

 

Woher rührt die Macht der „Speicherbarkeit“ von Energie? Am Anfang des Projekts The Driving Factor stand das Staunen über die widersprüchlichen Reaktionen von Politik und Zivilgesellschaft auf den Bau der Tesla- Gigafactory in Grünheide, Brandenburg. Auf lokaler und nationaler Ebene feierte die Politik eine zukunftsweisende, angeblich umweltfreundliche Technologie und die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen. Indessen wurden unzählige Einwendungen zu den Folgen für die Trinkwasserqualität, die bereits angeschlagenen Grundwasserreserven und zur Rodung des Waldes weitgehend ignoriert oder gar verhindert. Kritik an künftigen Auswirkungen der Fabrikansiedlung, Sorgen um Arbeitsbedingungen und Umweltschäden entlang der transnationalen Produktionswege galten ohnehin als nicht verfahrensrelevant. Waren die Versprechen von „grüner“ Mobilität, ähnlich denen der „Energiewende“, nicht auch hier, wie an vielen anderen Orten, Anlass einer tiefgreifenden Gefährdung von Ökosystemen und der Unterwanderung zivilgesellschaftlicher Rechte?

Beiden Versprechen—dem der Elektromobilität und dem der „Energiewende“—zugrunde liegt ein Objekt: die Batterie. The Driving Factor nimmt die Lithiumbatterie als Speichertechnologie „grüner“ Energie zum Ausgangspunkt für multidisziplinäre künstlerische Untersuchungen, die das Narrativ des schadlosen Speicherblocks für alle und überall, ob in Mobiltelefonen, Autos oder zur Stabilisierung der Stromnetze, hinterfragen. Aus lokalen Zusammenhängen heraus versucht es, Verbindungen zur globalen Lithium-Lieferkette herzustellen und intransparente und meist umweltschädigende Praktiken der Rohstoffförderung aufzuzeigen. Dabei werden Mechanismen der Aneignung von Natur- und menschlicher Arbeit als Fortsetzung imperialistischer und kolonialistischer Logiken sichtbar, die sich auch in Deutschland nachverfolgen lassen.

Die drei experimentellen Touren von The Driving Factor führen durch soziale und geographische Landschaften der Extraktion und Akkumulation in Berlin, Brandenburg und Sachsen. Jede Tour, als räumliche wie auch als gedankliche Bewegung konzipiert, macht Zyklen der Auf- und Abwertung von Rohstoffen und Landschaften nachvollziehbar, die in Zusammenhang mit der „Energiewende“ stehen: die Reaktivierung der Vision von Elektromobilität in Berlin-Oberschöneweide und Grünheide; die Wiederaufnahme des Bergbaus im sächsischen Erzgebirge nach dem Fund von Lithiumvorkommen; und die Produktion bzw. Neu-Verwertung von Landschaften nach dem Ausstieg aus dem Kohleabbau in der Lausitz. Dadurch, dass wir uns gemeinsam durch konkrete Orte und Landschaften bewegen, wollen wir vor allem ein Sprechen, Denken und Wahrnehmen von Themenkomplexen üben, die allzu oft als fachspezifisch und abstrakt gelten oder selten im größeren Zusammenhang dargestellt werden.

Das Projekt versammelt Künstler_innen, Kulturschaffende, Wissenschaftler_innen und Aktivist_innen, deren Praxis die Chancen, Risiken und Widersprüche der Produktion, Speicherung und Verteilung von Energie behandelt. Gleichzeitig erkennt es die Batterie auch als Sinnbild von gespeicherten Reservemöglichkeiten in Form von ungesehenen, unterirdischen, gar kapillaren Formen des Produzierens, Kollaborierens, und Solidarisierens, die vielerorts unterdrückt sind aber daran erinnern, dass die Geschichte alles andere als abgeschlossen ist: Widerstand findet statt. Indem die unterschiedlichen Formen des Engagements von Besucher_innen, geladenen und zugeschalteten Gästen miteinander in Dialog treten, werden gewohnte Blickwinkel und Narrative verkompliziert. Zugleich wird das Potenzial künstlerischer Perspektiven nutzbar gemacht, Räume für Auseinandersetzungen mit wissenschaftlichen und politischen Debatten zu öffnen, die weder ihre „Unfertigkeit“ scheuen noch es unterlassen, durch poetische Inspirationen zu provozieren, und zu ermutigen.

Die künstlerischen, wissenschaftlichen und aktivistischen Beiträge, die im Rahmen von The Driving Factor aufgerufen werden, befassen sich mit intersektionalen Ungerechtigkeiten, die im Kontext mit der Batterieproduktion stehen: Kontaminationen von Ökosystemen, Vertreibungen von Menschen, Tierarten und Pflanzen. Dabei hilft der Fokus auf die Lithiumbatterie, die historische Kontinuität von kapitalistischer Akkumulation in der heute fortschreitenden Finanzialisierung von Land, Natur und Arbeit, oder auch in den Spekulationen im Feld der „Green“ Economy nachvollziehbar zu machen. Batterien sollten das mit erneuerbaren Energien betriebene Stromnetz stabilisieren und damit zum Übergang hin zur emissionsfreien und ressourcenschonenden Energienutzung beitragen, die sich viele vom europäischen „Green Deal“ versprachen. Seit Beginn des Krieges in der Ukraine zeigen die Debatten um „Energiesicherheit“, dass dieses Versprechen vor allem das Versprechen eines linearen Wachstums- und Investitionsmodells war, das privates Kapital sichern sollte.

Die station urbaner kulturen/nGbK Hellersdorf wird für die Dauer des Projekts zu einem „Speicher“, in dem neue und bestehende künstlerische Arbeiten, Recherchematerialien, Podcasts der Projektgruppe, sowie Eindrücke der Touren nach und nach eingelagert und in variierenden Zusammenhängen vorgestellt werden. Den Speichervorgang beschleunigt das Forum: POWER BANK, das Beitragende und Teilnehmer_innen des Projekts zusammenbringt, um alternative Handlungsräume zu diskutieren. Dass ein Bruch mit den bisherigen Macht- und Besitzverhältnissen im Kontext der Produktion, Verteilung und Akkumulation von Energie notwendig ist, scheint festzustehen; wie Kunst- und Kulturschaffende als Teil der Zivilgesellschaft in translokalen Gruppierungen dazu beitragen können, ist eine offene Frage.

Als digitaler, wachsender Speicher sammelt die Webseite thedrivingfactor.net Stimmen, Materialien und Themen des Projekts für ein breiteres Publikum. Hier werden im Nachgang der Touren deren künstlerische Dokumentation veröffentlicht und weitere Querverweise langfristig zugänglich gemacht. 

 


nGbK-Projektgruppe: Elisa T. Bertuzzo, Jan Lemitz, Daniele Tognozzi, Mercedes Villalba, Neli Wagner

Publikation

  
ISBN:

Weitere Termine

10Freitag, 10 Juni 2022Freitag, 10. Juni 2022, 18:00 Uhr
Eröffnung: Opening: Ausstellung
11Samstag, 11 Juni 2022Samstag, 11. Juni 2022
AUSGEBUCHT: FULLY BOOKED: Tour "The Money Tree" (Berlin)
18Samstag, 18 Juni 2022Samstag, 18. Juni 2022
AUSGEBUCHT: FULLY BOOKED: Tour Taube Erde (Erzgebirge)
25Samstag, 25 Juni 2022Samstag, 25. Juni 2022
AUSGEBUCHT: FULLY BOOKED: Tour Am Ende Landschaft (Lausitz)
2Samstag, 02 Juli 2022Samstag, 02. Juli 2022, 14:00 Uhr
Panel: Panel: Forum "POWER BANK"
23Samstag, 23 Juli 2022Samstag, 23. Juli 2022, 16:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Führung und Gespräch: Presentation and talk: Inventur mit Mitgliedern der Projektgruppe
6Samstag, 06 August 2022Samstag, 06. August 2022, 16:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Führung und Gespräch: Presentation and talk: Inventur mit Mitgliedern der Projektgruppe und Gästen
20Samstag, 20 August 2022Samstag, 20. August 2022, 16:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Finissage: Finissage: Letzte Inventur mit Eva Hertzsch, Adam Page und Gästen