neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

Out now

Out now: *foundationClass – the book // Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens

Friday, 16 September 2022 — Thursday, 28 September 2023

*foundationClass – the book // Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens

Address:nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Open: Daily 12:00-18:00, Fri 12:00-20:00
Language(s): 
  • German
  • English

Entry: free
Organized by: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

*foundationClass – the book // Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens

Two new releases in the publishing house of nGbK investigate alternative structures and practices in art institutions

In 2020, the collective *foundationClass produced an exhibition for the nGbK that, due to the pandemic, could only be shown online. Now, the resulting publication by the collective currently also present at documenta fifteen has come out. For the first time, this book brings together essays, image series, conversations, and experimental text formats from their work – in a multi-voiced volume that addresses, among other things, exclusion mechanisms and racism at art academies.

Also dedicated to a critique of institutional structures and to making polyphony a principle is the new nGbK publication Networks of Care. This reader is dedicated to challenges of archiving and working with documents of ephemeral or experimental artistic practice. From the Schwules Museum Berlin to the Old Boys Network, from the Erfurt women artists' group to the decentralized archive of the nGbK: here, reports and analyses are presented from different contexts of archiving, addressing a practice that always includes caring as well as discarding.

In 2016, *foundationClass was founded at the Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin as a platform and program to facilitate access to art academies for people who have immigrated to Germany and have been affected by racism. *foundationClass – the book is an attempt to capture 5 years of intense, versatile experiences and learning processes in image and writing and is addressed to those interested in critical art production and education. It critically questions the normative mechanisms of inclusion and exclusion within art schools: the polyphonic and multilingual contributions gathered here refer to concrete experiences within the institutions and show how essential a continued insistence on dispute is for the success of any critique of power. The project addresses potential accomplices who are also convinced that self-reflective critique of hegemony and domination must be a fundamental part of artistic teaching, of any cultural production, and a starting point for creating further alliances and forms of solidarization.

In 2021, the project Networks of Care offered a platform at the nGbK enabling an exchange of ideas and information between practitioners and experts concerning strategies for dealing with artistic estates, private and public archives, or idle collections of documents. A series of workshops served as a prelude to develop new strategies for the transmission of practical knowledge and to identify the need for specific long-term institutional structures. The texts in the resulting publication reflect the fact that practices of preserving and discarding are always also political and must be understood principally as unfinished processes of continuous selecting, deciding, translating, transferring, actualizing, and transforming. The publication concludes with a preliminary interim result and a proposal for next steps regarding these structural and cultural-political challenges. Accordingly, on the occasion of the new publication in May, Michaela Melián, Anna Schäffler, Annette Maechtel, Christine Henniger, and Christin Lahr came together in a panel moderated by Hanna Magauer to discuss the question: "What's next?"

 

*foundationClass – the book with contributions by Osamah Abouzor, Nelly Alfandari, Fadi AlJabour, Marwa AlMokbel, Ulf Aminde, Cana Bilir-Meier, Felipe Castelblanco, Linde Colden, Nuray Demir, Discoteca Flamingstar, Danja Erni, Josefine Gindorf, Christine Goutrié, Jiré Emine Gözen, Max Grau, Ayşe Güleç, Mohamad Halbouni, Nadira Husain, Ali Kaaf, Sandy Kaltenborn, Katharina Kersten, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt, Carmen Mörsch, Danae Nagel, Marina Naprushkina, Pedro Oliveira, Shanti Suki Osman, Krishan Rajapakshe, Can Mileva Rastovic, Miriam Schickler, Batoul Sedawi, Bahareh Sharifi, Hatef Soltani, Mariama Sow, Nora Sternfeld, Vera Varlamova, Wildfire.

Developed from the nGbK project *foundationClass from within the cracks, 12 December 2020–28 March 2021

 

Networks of Care with contributions by Dušan Barok, Nanne Buurman, Amalia Calderòn, Mela Dávila Freire, Annet Dekker, Lukas Fuchsgruber, Michael Hiltbrunner, Megan Hoetger, Bettina Knaup, Christin Lahr, Anne Luther, Katalin Krasznahorkai, Laurence Rassel, Peter Rehberg, Elske Rosenfeld, Friederike Schäfer, Anna Schäffler, Olga Schubert, Cornelia Sollfrank, Ingrid Wagner, Mark Waugh

Developed from the nGbK project Networks of Care, 1 January–31 December 2021

Publication

  
ISBN:

Further Dates

neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

Neuerscheinung

Neuerscheinung: *foundationClass – the book // Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens

Freitag, 16. September 2022 — Donnerstag, 28. September 2023

*foundationClass – the book // Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens

Adresse: nGbK, Oranienstraße 25, 10999 Berlin
Geöffnet:Täglich 12-18 Uhr, Fr 12-20 Uhr
Sprache(n): 
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Eintritt: frei
Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

*foundationClass – the book // Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens

Zwei neue Publikationen im Verlag der nGbK suchen nach alternativen Handlungsweisen in kunstinstitutionellen Strukturen

2020 produzierte das Kollektiv *foundationClass eine Ausstellung für die nGbK, die aus Pandemiegründen nur online gezeigt werden konnte. Die daraus entstandene Publikation des Kollektivs, das aktuell auf der documenta fifteen vertreten ist, ist kürzlich erschienen. Sie versammelt erstmals Essays, Bildstrecken, Gespräche und experimentelle Textformate zu einem vielstimmigen Band, der unter anderem Ausschlussmechanismen und Rassismus an Kunsthochschulen zum Thema macht.

Auch die im Mai erschienene nGbK-Publikation Networks of Care widmet sich einer Kritik institutioneller Strukturen und macht Vielstimmigkeit zum Prinzip. Der Reader befasst sich mit Herausforderungen des Archivierens und des Arbeitens mit Dokumenten ephemerer oder experimenteller künstlerischer Praxis. Vom Schwulen Museum Berlin über das Old Boys Network, von der Künstlerinnengruppe Erfurt bis zum dezentralen Archiv der nGbK: Hier wird aus unterschiedlichen Problemstellungen einer erhaltenden – das Sorgen und das Entsorgen einschließenden – Praxis berichtet und analysiert.

2016 wurde die *foundationClass an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin als Plattform und Programm gegründet, um Menschen, die nach Deutschland zugewandert und von Rassismus betroffen sind, den Zugang zu Kunsthochschulen zu erleichtern. *foundationClass – the book ist ein Versuch, fünf Jahre intensiver, vielseitiger Erfahrungen und Lernprozesse in Bild und Schrift festzuhalten und richtet sich an all diejenigen, die an machtkritischer Kunstproduktion und Bildung interessiert sind. Im Buch werden die normativen Ein- und Ausschlussmechanismen von Kunsthochschulen kritisch hinterfragt: Die hier versammelten multiperspektivischen und mehrsprachlichen Beiträge beziehen sich auf konkrete Erfahrungen innerhalb der Institutionen und zeigen auf, wie essenziell ein kontinuierliches Beharren auf Auseinandersetzung für das Gelingen eines machtkritischen Programms ist. Angesprochen sind potenzielle Kompliz_innen, die auch davon überzeugt sind, dass selbstreflektierte Macht- und Herrschaftskritik fundamentaler Teil der künstlerischen Lehre, jeglicher kulturellen Produktion und Ausgangspunkt für das Schaffen weiterer Allianzen und Formen der Solidarisierung sein muss.

Das Projekt Networks of Care bot 2021 in der nGbK eine Plattform für den Austausch von Praktiker_innen und Expert_innen über Strategien im Umgang mit künstlerischen Vor- und Nachlässen, privaten und öffentlichen Archiven oder brachliegenden Dokumentationskonvoluten. Eine Workshopreihe diente als Auftakt, um neue Strategien für die Tradierung von Handlungswissen zu entwickeln und Bedarfe nach langfristigen institutionellen Strukturen abzufragen. Die Textbeiträge der nun erschienenen Publikation verdeutlichen, dass Praktiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens immer auch politisch sind und als prinzipiell unabschließbare Prozesse des permanenten Auswählens, Entscheidens, Übersetzens, Übertragens, Aktualisierens und Transformierens verstanden werden müssen. Die Publikation schließt mit einem vorläufigen Zwischenergebnis und einem Vorschlag für notwendig erscheinende nächste Schritte mit Blick auf diese strukturellen und kulturpolitischen Herausforderungen. Anlässlich der Neuerscheinung im Mai fragten dementsprechend Michaela Melián, Anna Schäffler, Annette Maechtel, Christine Henniger und Christin Lahr in einem von Hanna Magauer moderierten Panel in der nGbK: „What’s next?“

 

*foundationClass – the book mit Beiträgen von: Osamah Abouzor, Nelly Alfandari, Fadi AlJabour, Marwa AlMokbel, Ulf Aminde, Cana Bilir-Meier, Felipe Castelblanco, Linde Colden, Nuray Demir, Discoteca Flamingstar, Danja Erni, Josefine Gindorf, Christine Goutrié, Jiré Emine Gözen, Max Grau, Ayşe Güleç, Mohamad Halbouni, Nadira Husain, Ali Kaaf, Sandy Kaltenborn, Katharina Kersten, Verena Melgarejo Weinandt, Carmen Mörsch, Danae Nagel, Marina Naprushkina, Pedro Oliveira, Shanti Suki Osman, Krishan Rajapakshe, Can Mileva Rastovic, Miriam Schickler, Batoul Sedawi, Bahareh Sharifi, Hatef Soltani, Mariama Sow, Nora Sternfeld, Vera Varlamova, Wildfire.

Entstanden aus dem nGbK-Projekt *foundationClass – from within the cracks, 12. Dezember 2020–28. März 2021

 

Networks of Care. Politiken des (Er)haltens und (Ent)sorgens mit Beiträgen von Dušan Barok, Nanne Buurman, Amalia Calderòn, Mela Dávila Freire, Annet Dekker, Lukas Fuchsgruber, Michael Hiltbrunner, Megan Hoetger, Bettina Knaup, Christin Lahr, Anne Luther, Katalin Krasznahorkai, Laurence Rassel, Peter Rehberg, Elske Rosenfeld, Friederike Schäfer, Anna Schäffler, Olga Schubert, Cornelia Sollfrank, Ingrid Wagner, Mark Waugh.

Entstanden aus dem nGbK-Projekt Networks of Care, 1. Januar–31. Dezember 2021

Publikation

  
ISBN:

Weitere Termine