X Properties: The film series

Sat, 2.12.23 – Sat, 10.2.24 Type: nGbK Lecture Languages: German, English Location: nGbK am Alex Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Admission: free Organizer: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst

X Properties: The film series

with films by Μarta Dauliūtė & Viktorija Šiaulytė, Yvonne Wilhelm/knowbotiq, Black Audio Film Collective and Natascha Sadr Haghighian & Marina Christodoulidou & Peter Eramian

organized by Joerg Franzbecker, Naomi Hennig, Janine Sack and Florian Wüst

How do the forces of financial capital impact on a city’s social and cultural production? How can the goal of urban development for the common good be promoted in the face of gentrification and displacement driven by the booming real estate market? In the fall of 2022, these questions were addressed by X Properties, a nGbK project that dealt with the nGbK’s own situation of its premises at Oranienstraße 25 in Berlin-Kreuzberg being sold to a Luxemburg-based real-estate investment fund. Produced as part of this project, the eleventh issue of Berliner Hefte zu Geschichte und Gegenwart der Stadt combines Berlin case studies with global perspectives on the de-/financialization of the city.

On the occasion of the publication of the English e-book version of X Properties by EECLECTIC, the nGbK is hosting a series of three film screenings that return to this debate about the economization of urban life. The four artistic/activist films explore models for coworking and cohabitation that intrude far into private spheres; reflect on the scope for individual action within the banking system; and look at migration, belonging, and memory as conditions of space-related power relations in techno-capitalism.

Good Life (2022) by Μarta Dauliūtė and Viktorija Šiaulytė documents the everyday life of a group of young people who rent “sleeping pods” measuring just a few square meters in a shared house in central Stockholm; Tech Farm, the start-up operating the facility, inspires them to lead their entire social life as a business operation:entrepreneurship becomes part of theinnermost self and community becomes a commodity. In DREXCIYA or becoming transparent, translucent, transmaterial (2017), Yvonne Wilhelm interweaves biographical storytelling and acoustic historiography in a new interpretation of the migratory movement of the trans-oceanic slave trade. In Twilight City (1989) by the Black Audio Film Collective, the journalist Olivia wanders around London in the early days of neoliberalism; in a letter to her mother, who returned to the Dominican Republic many year previously, she tells of her search for evidence of the ways wealth inequality becomes inscribed into the city, what home means, and what it may once have meant to her mother. The Broken Pitcher (2022) centers on a family’s negotiations with their lending bank about the looming repossession of their home in Larnaka; Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Marina Christodoulidou, and Peter Eramian present this real event that took place in 2019 using reconstructions from memory, followed by commentaries by various individuals answering the question: What do you think the bank officials should have done?

Past

10.2.24, 7.00 pm

nGbK Lecture: The Broken Pitcher (X Properties: Die Filmreihe)

Type: nGbK Lecture Location: nGbK am Alex
Eine graue Jalousie füllt das gesamte Bild. Zwei Finger öffnen einen Spalt der Jalousie.

13.1.24, 7.00 pm

nGbK Lecture: DREXCIYA + Twilight City (X Properties: Die Filmreihe)

Type: Event, Filmscreening Location: nGbK am Alex

2.12.23, 7.00 pm

nGbK Lecture: Good Life (X Properties: Die Filmreihe)

Type: Filmscreening, Talk Location: nGbK am Alex

Related

nGbK Lectures

ongoing Type: Event series

Tags

X Properties: Die Filmreihe

Sa, 2.12.23 – Sa, 10.2.24 Typ: nGbK Lecture Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch Ort: nGbK am Alex Adresse: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Eintritt: frei Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst

X Properties: Die Filmreihe

mit Filmen von Μarta Dauliūtė & Viktorija Šiaulytė, Yvonne Wilhelm/knowbotiq, Black Audio Film Collective und Natascha Sadr Haghighian & Marina Christodoulidou & Peter Eramian

Organisiert von Joerg Franzbecker, Naomi Hennig, Janine Sack und Florian Wüst

Wie wirken sich die Kräfte des Finanzkapitals auf die soziale und kulturelle Produktion von Stadt aus? Wie kann den Aufwertungs- und Verdrängungsprozessen des boomenden Immobilienmarkts das Ziel einer gemeinwohlorientierten Stadtentwicklung entgegengesetzt werden? Diese Fragen stellte im Herbst 2022 das nGbK-Projekt X Properties und thematisierte damit die eigene Situation der nGbK, deren Räumlichkeiten in der Oranienstraße 25 in Berlin-Kreuzberg an einen in Luxemburg registrierten Immobilienfonds verkauft worden waren. Die im Rahmen des Projekts entstandene 11. Ausgabe der Berliner Hefte zu Geschichte und Gegenwart der Stadt verbindet Berliner Fallstudien mit globalen Perspektiven auf die De-/Finanzialisierung der Stadt.

Aus Anlass der Veröffentlichung der englischen, bei EECLECTIC erschienenen E-Book-Fassung von X Properties findet in der nGbK am Alex eine dreiteilige Filmreihe statt, die die Debatte um die Ökonomisierung städtischen Lebens erneut aufgreift. Die insgesamt vier künstlerisch-aktivistischen Filme erkunden Co-Working und -Living-Modelle, die tief in die Privatsphäre eingreifen, reflektieren subjektive Handlungsmöglichkeiten innerhalb des Bankensystems sowie Migration, Zugehörigkeit und Erinnerung als Bedingungen räumlicher Machtverhältnisse im Technokapitalismus.

Good Life von Μarta Dauliūtė und Viktorija Šiaulytė (2022) dokumentiert den Alltag einer Gruppe junger Menschen, die in einem Gemeinschaftshaus im Zentrum von Stockholm nur wenige Quadratmeter große „Schlafkapseln“ mieten. Die Betreiberfirma, das Startup Tech Farm, inspiriert sie dazu, ihr gesamtes soziales Leben als Geschäftsbeziehung zu führen: Unternehmertum wird zum innersten Selbst, Gemeinschaft zur Ware. Yvonne Wilhelm verwebt in DREXCIYA or becoming transparent, translucent, transmaterial (2017) biografisches Erzählen und akustische Geschichtsschreibung zu einer Neuinterpretation der Migrationsbewegung des Sklavenhandels über Ozeane hinweg. In Twilight City, einem Film des Black Audio Film Collectives von 1989, durchstreift Olivia, eine Journalistin, das London des aufkommenden Neoliberalismus. In einem Brief an ihre vor vielen Jahren in die Dominikanische Republik zurückgekehrte Mutter berichtet sie von ihrer Suche nach Hinweisen darauf, wie sich ungleicher Wohlstand in die Stadt einschreibt, was Zuhause bedeutet und für ihre Mutter einst bedeutet haben mag. Im Mittelpunkt von The Broken Pitcher (2022) steht die Verhandlung einer Familie mit der kreditgebenden Bank über die anstehende Zwangsvollstreckung ihres Einfamilienhauses in Larnaka. Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Marina Christodoulidou und Peter Eramian stellen das reale Ereignis aus dem Jahr 2019 anhand von Erinnerungsprotokollen nach und lassen die Szene anschließend von verschiedenen Personen kommentieren: Was hätten die Bankangestellten ihrer Meinung nach tun sollen?

Termine

Rückblick

2.12.23, 19:00 Uhr

nGbK Lecture: Good Life (X Properties: Die Filmreihe)

Typ: Filmscreening, Gespräch Ort: nGbK am Alex

13.1.24, 19:00 Uhr

nGbK Lecture: DREXCIYA + Twilight City (X Properties: Die Filmreihe)

Typ: Veranstaltung, Filmscreening Ort: nGbK am Alex

10.2.24, 19:00 Uhr

nGbK Lecture: The Broken Pitcher (X Properties: Die Filmreihe)

Typ: nGbK Lecture Ort: nGbK am Alex
Eine graue Jalousie füllt das gesamte Bild. Zwei Finger öffnen einen Spalt der Jalousie.

Verwandt

nGbK Lectures

fortlaufend Typ: Veranstaltungsreihe

Tags