Istanbul-Berlin Residency Program

Since 2018, two scholarships have been granted annually to artists who live in Istanbul. The existing Istanbul stipend of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe was expanded to a true exchange, with a jury annually selecting two artists from Istanbul to be sent to Berlin and vice versa. The aim is to further enhance the relations between the partner cities of Berlin and Istanbul as well as the connections to the Turkish art scene. This is done with the conviction that international exchange and direct communication allow cultural diversity be experienced as an enrichment, inviting people to a change in perspective.
The scholarship takes place as part of a cooperation between the neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) and ZK/U (from 2018 to mid 2021), from June of 2021 on with Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien in Berlin, and DEPO in Istanbul.

Ece Eldek

January 15 – June 15, 2024

The visual artist and poet Ece Eldek works with video, photography, performance, installation and poetry. Eldek‘s artistic work focuses on networks of social, political and cultural relationships, and on interwoven mechanisms and processes. Based on the idea that subjective experience is reshaped and generated by the environment, the memory and by the socio-political space, she positions herself as an artist in various networks of relationships and explores them from the inside.

Between 2005 and 2009, she studied Fine Arts and Graphic Design at Marmara University in Istanbul. She is one of the founding members of the art initiatives TOZ Artist Run Space and Her Hal in Istanbul and is co-founder and editor of the online magazine Moero, founded in 2020, which contributes to the visibility of women in the poetry scene. She has shown her artistic work in numerous international exhibitions and biennials, including most recently at the Istanbul Biennial, SALT Galata Istanbul and the Piccadilly International Art Museum in Seoul, South Korea.

Fatma Çelik

July 15 – December 15, 2023

For more than a decade, Fatma Çelik has been producing photography and video works on the issues of identity, memory, ecology, and gender. As a Kurdish woman artist who has been working in Northern Kurdistan for many years, she is especially interested in narratives and archives around the tense situation that Kurdish people are facing in that region and their lives in the diaspora.

In Berlin, Çelik will continue and expand her long-term research project Back to Nature with women who have created their own space in the Hevrin Xelef Garden under the umbrella of Flamingo e.V., a Berlin-based organization that works mostly with migrants. In Back to Nature she follows Kurds, Alevis, Assyrians, and Chaldeans who have returned to their villages evacuated in the 1990s, and have initiated practicing organic agriculture and animal husbandry there. Now she wants to follow Kurds and other communities living in the diaspora who cannot return to their villages and created gardens/spaces for themselves in the places where they live.

Fatma Çelik (b. 1987) graduated from İnönü University (Malatya) Department of Psychological Counseling and Guidance in 2009. Between 2012-2021 she was one of the members of NarPhotos Collective.  She participated in several group exhibitions such as REGENERATE: Noorderlicht Internationaal Photo Festival, Groningen, Friesland, Drenthe, NL (2023), Cultural Dialogue: Artistic Collaboration: Support for Production: To Look, Record and Tell in order to Remember at Depo, İstanbul (2022), On Solitude and Water at Depo, İstanbul / Bomontiada, İstanbul / Amed Şehir Tiyatrosu, Diyarbakır / Çetin Emeç Sanat Galerisi, Izmir (2018-2020), Women and Prison 5, Diyarbakır Metropolitan Municipality Exhibition Hall (2016) and On the Road, Istanbul Modern (2014).

The stipend of the Senate Department for Culture and Social Cohesion is made possible in the frame of a cooperation between the neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) and the Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien in Berlin as well as DEPO in Istanbul.

Künstler_innenstipendium Istanbul-Berlin

Seit 2018 werden jährlich zwei Stipendien an in Istanbul lebende Künstler_innen vergeben. Das bestehende Istanbul-Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa wurde zu einem echten Austausch erweitert, indem jährlich zwei Künstler_innen aus Istanbul von einer Jury ausgewählt und nach Berlin entsandt werden und umgekehrt. Damit sollen die Beziehungen zwischen den Partnerstädten Berlin und Istanbul  und die Verbindung zur türkischen Kunstszene weiter gestärkt werden. Dies folgt der Überzeugung, dass internationaler Austausch und unmittelbare Kommunikation kulturelle Vielfalt als Bereicherung erlebbar werden lassen und zum Perspektivenwechsel einladen.
Das Stipendium wird im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen dem Kunstverein neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) und dem ZK/U (2018-bis Mitte 2021), seit Juni 2021 mit dem Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien, in Berlin sowie dem DEPO in Istanbul ermöglicht.

Ece Eldek

15. Januar – 15. Juni 2024

Die bildende Künstlerin und Dichterin Ece Eldek arbeitet mit Video, Fotografie, Performance, Installation und Poesie. Im Mittelpunkt von Eldeks künstlerischer Arbeit stehen Netzwerke sozialer, politischer und kultureller Beziehungen sowie verflochtene Mechanismen und Prozesse. Ausgehend von der Idee, dass subjektive Erfahrung durch die Umgebung, das Gedächtnis und den sozialen wie politischen Raum neu geformt und erzeugt wird, positioniert sie sich als Künstlerin in verschiedenen Beziehungsgeflechten und beforscht diese von Innen.

Zwischen 2005 und 2009 studierte sie an der Marmara-Universität in Istanbul Bildende Kunst und Grafikdesign. Sie gehört zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Kunstinitiativen TOZ Artist Run Space und Her Hal in Istanbul und ist Mitbegründerin und Redakteurin der 2020 gegründeten Online-Zeitschrift Moero, die zur Sichtbarkeit von Frauen in der Lyrikszene beiträgt. Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten zeigte sie in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen und Biennalen, darunter zuletzt auf der Istanbul Biennale, im SALT Galata Istanbul und im Piccadilly International Art Museum in Seoul, Südkorea.

Fatma Çelik

15. Juli – 15. Dezember 2023

Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt widmet sich Fatma Çelik in Fotografien und Videoarbeiten den Themen Identität, Erinnerung, Ökologie und Gender. Als kurdische Künstlerin, die seit vielen Jahren im Norden Kurdistans arbeitet, interessiert sie sich besonders für Narrative und Archive zur angespannten Situation der Kurd_innen in der Region und ihre Leben in der Diaspora.

In Berlin wird Çelik ihr Langzeitforschungsprojekt Back to Nature fortsetzen und erweitern. Für das Projekt arbeitet sie mit Frauen, die unter Schirmherrschaft von Flamingo e.V., einer Berliner Organisation, die vorwiegend mit Migrant_innen arbeitet, im Hevrin-Xelef-Garten ihren eigenen Raum schaffen. Back to Nature folgt Kurd_innen, Alevit_innen, Assyrer_innen und Chaldäer_innen, die in ihre in den 1990er Jahren evakuierten Heimatdörfer zurückgekehrt sind, um dort biologische Landwirtschaft und Viehzucht zu betreiben. In Berlin folgt Çelik nun Kurd_innen und anderen diasporischen Gemeinschaften, die nicht in ihre Dörfer zurückkehren können und an ihren jetzigen Wohnorten Gärten und Räume für sich schaffen.

Fatma Çelik (geb. 1987) schloss 2009 ihr Studium am Institut für Psychologie der İnönü-Universität in Malatya ab. Von 2012 bis 2021 war sie Mitglied des Kollektivs NarPhotos. Ihre Arbeiten waren in Gruppenausstellungen wie REGENERATE: Noorderlicht Internationaal Photo Festival, Groningen, Friesland, Drenthe, NL (2023), Cultural Dialogue: Artistic Collaboration: Support for Production: To Look, Record and Tell in order to Remember im Depo, İstanbul (2022), On Solitude and Water at Depo, İstanbul / Bomontiada, İstanbul / Amed Şehir Tiyatrosu, Diyarbakır / Çetin Emeç Sanat Galerisi, Izmir (2018-2020), Women and Prison 5, Diyarbakır Metropolitan Municipality Exhibition Hall (2016) und On the Road, Istanbul Modern (2014) zu sehen.

Das Stipendium der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt wird im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen dem Kunstverein neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) und dem Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien in Berlin sowie dem DEPO in Istanbul ermöglicht.