New space of the nGbK at Alexanderplatz

Wed, 13.9.23, 5.00 pm Type: Opening Languages: German, English Location: nGbK am Alex Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Fee: free Organizer: neue Gesellschaft für bildene Kunst
nGbK am Alex, Photo: Thomas Bruns

Reopening of the nGbK at the new Alexanderplatz location
 
➔ On September 13, nGbK opens its new spaces at Karl-Liebknecht-Straße 11/13 with the exhibition House of Kal as part of Berlin Art Week.
➔ On September 15, the architecture firm Hütten & Paläste will present the new spaces as part of the ARCH+ features 120: nGbK. Followed by a panel discussion with Folke Köbberling and Annette Maechtel about the role of cultural institutions in social transformation processes towards sustainability.

For a year, the nGbK was without its own exhibition space, now it is opening its new location, nGbK am Alex. In a former McDonald’s branch, rooms with a variety of uses were created here especially for nGbK. The reconfigurable spatial concept developed by the architectural firm Hütten & Paläste focuses on transparency, variability and sustainability. Movable walls provide free space for different room configurations, which intertwine exhibition, event and work spaces and enable new curatorial working methods.
The rooms in a state-owned property are sublet to the nGbK by Kulturraum GmbH as a tenant of the Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Berlin-Mitte (WBM) as part of an interim use concept for an initial period of ten years. The conversion of the rooms in the former market hall building from the 1970s was the responsibility of nGbK itself. With a view to future reuse, interventions in the existing building were kept to a minimum and spatial settlements were reduced to the essentials - a decision that refers to the interim use of the building and keeps the consumption of resources to a minimum. Ecological materials such as straw panels and clay were used for all new installations. The living elements façade work designed by Folke Köbberling also uses recycled materials. Boxes made of wood and recycled wool attached to the exterior of the building form the letters nGbK and provide nesting space for birds.

 

Events

13.9.23, 5.00 pm

House of Kal

Type: Opening Location: nGbK am Alex

Tags

Neue Räume der nGbK am Alexanderplatz

Mi, 13.9.23, 17:00 Uhr Typ: Eröffnung Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch Ort: nGbK am Alex Adresse: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Eintritt: frei Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
nGbK am Alex, Photo: Thomas Bruns

Wiedereröffnung der nGbK am neuen Standort Alexanderplatz

 

➔ Am 13. September eröffnet der Kunstverein seine neuen Räume in der Karl-Liebknecht-Straße 11/13 mit der Ausstellung House of Kal im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week.

➔ Am 15. September stellt das Architekturbüro Hütten & Paläste die neuen Räume im Rahmen des ARCH+ features 120: nGbK vor. Anschließende Podiumsdiskussion mit Folke Köbberling und Annette Maechtel über die Rolle von Kulturinstitutionen in gesellschaftlichen Transformationsprozessen hin zu Nachhaltigkeit.

 

Ein Jahr lang war die nGbK ohne eigenen Ausstellungsraum, nun eröffnet sie ihren neuen Standort, die nGbK am Alex. In einer ehemaligen McDonald‘s-Filiale entstanden hier eigens für die nGbK vielfältig nutzbare Räume. Das vom Architekturbüro Hütten & Paläste entwickelte rekonfigurierbare Raumkonzept setzt auf Transparenz, Variabilität und Nachhaltigkeit. Verschiebbare Wände bieten Freiraum für verschiedene Raumkonfigurationen, die Ausstellungs-, Veranstaltungs- und Arbeitsräume miteinander verschränken und neue kuratorische Arbeitsweisen ermöglichen.

Die Räume in einer landeseigenen Immobilie werden von der Kulturraum GmbH als Mieterin der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Berlin-Mitte (WBM) im Rahmen eines Zwischennutzungskonzepts für zunächst zehn Jahre an die nGbK untervermietet. Den Umbau der Räume in dem ehemaligen Markthallengebäude aus den 1970er Jahren verantwortete die nGbK selbst. In Hinblick auf eine künftige Nachnutzung wurden Eingriffe in den Bestand dabei geringgehalten und räumliche Setzungen auf das Wesentliche reduziert – eine Entscheidung, die auf die Zwischennutzung des Gebäudes verweist und den Ressourcenverbrauch geringhält. Für alle Neueinbauten wurden ökologische Materialien wie Strohplatten und Ton verwendet. Auch die von Folke Köbberling gestaltete Fassadenarbeit living elements nutzt recycelte Materialien. Die an der Außenseite des Gebäudes angebrachten Kästen aus Holz und wiederverwerteter Wolle formen die Buchstaben nGbK und bieten Vögeln einen Nistplatz.

 

Rückblick

13.9.23, 17:00 Uhr

House of Kal

Typ: Eröffnung Ort: nGbK am Alex

Tags