Dreams & Dramas

Law as Literature

Year: 2018 Type: Print publication Languages: English Price: 12.00 € Format: 15 × 20 cm, softcover, open thread binding Scope: 252 p., 20 images, color and b/w ISBN: 978-3-938515-67-9 Cooperation: HIT Gallery, Bratislava

The reader develops the main axes of the exhibition Dreams & Dramas: the body, community, territory, and property. It presents the relationship between law describing and creating reality, including ourselves as persons, participating in communities. By juxtaposing the various materials – text, conversations, and drawings – it reflects on law and justice and demonstrates the ways in which these concepts are in relation to and of impact to one another.

In parallel, it examines the tools used by the law, such as cut and montage, indirect speech, and legal fiction. This brings to light the narrative nature of the law and, pertinently, the matter of which stories are heard and which are not.

Ed.: Agnieszka Kilian in Zusammenarbeit mit Joerg Franzbecker u. Jaro Varga

Work group: Anna Bromley, Kaja Gliwa, Agnieszka Kilian, Alicja Rogalska, Jaro Varga

With contributions by: David Crowley, Jürgen Hohmuth, Angelika Richter, Astrid Hackel, Adam Czirak, Andrej Mirchev

Tags

Dreams & Dramas

Law as Literature

Jahr: 2018 Typ: Print-Publikation Sprachen: Englisch Preis: 12,00 € Format: 15 × 20 cm, Softcover, offene Fadenbindung Umfang: 252 S., 20 Abb., Farbe und SW ISBN: 978-3-938515-67-9 Kooperation: HIT Gallery, Bratislava

Der Reader vertieft die Hauptachsen der Ausstellung Dreams & Dramas: den Körper, die Gemeinschaft, das Territorium und das Eigentum. Es zeigt die Beziehung zwischen dem Gesetz, das Realitäten beschreibt und schafft, und uns selbst als Personen, die an Gemeinschaften teilnehmen. Durch die Gegenüberstellung verschiedener Materialien – Texte, Gespräche und Zeichnungen – wird über Recht und Gerechtigkeit nachgedacht und aufgezeigt, wie diese Konzepte in Beziehung zueinanderstehen und sich gegenseitig beeinflussen.

Parallel dazu werden die Werkzeuge des Rechts untersucht, wie Schnitt und Montage, indirekte Rede und juristische Fiktion. Dadurch wird der erzählerische Charakter des Rechts deutlich und die Frage, welche Geschichten gehört werden und welche nicht.

Hg.: Agnieszka Kilian in Zusammenarbeit mit Joerg Franzbecker u. Jaro Varga

Arbeitsgruppe: Anna Bromley, Kaja Gliwa, Agnieszka Kilian, Alicja Rogalska, Jaro Varga

Mit Beiträgen von: David Crowley, Jürgen Hohmuth, Angelika Richter, Astrid Hackel, Adam Czirak, Andrej Mirchev

Tags