ARCH+ features 120: nGbK – Kunstumbau

Fri, 15.9.23, 5.30 pm Type: Guided Tour, Roundtable Languages: German Location: nGbK am Alex Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Fee: free Organizer: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst and ARCH+

Guided tour with opening of the facade work (17:30) and a roundtable discussion (19:00)

with Nanni Grau and Frank Schönert (Hütten & Paläste), Folke Köbberling (artist) and Annette Maechtel (nGbK)

Moderation: Christian Hiller (ARCH+, co-curator of the German Pavilion at the Venice Architecture Biennale and the exhibition The Great Repair).

The displacement of non-profit cultural spaces is progressing. Following a change of ownership, the new Gesellschaft für bildende (nGbK) lost its traditional premises on Oranienstraße in Berlin after 30 years. Despite massive protests, one of the most important German art associations had to give up its exhibition rooms in the summer of 2022.
At the beginning of August, it moved into state-owned premises on Karl-Liebknecht-Straße at Alexanderplatz for temporary use, which will be opened on September 13. The architectural firm Hütten & Paläste has built the commercial space in a prefabricated concrete slab building. A reconfigurable reconfigurable spatial concept transforms the approx. 700 m2 space into exhibition, event, working and office space, which has already been with a view to subsequent use by future cultural actors. Interventions in the existing building have been kept to a minimum and spatial  reduced to the essentials. For all new installations, ecological materials such as straw panels and clay.

After a tour through the new spaces, Annette Maechtel, the managing director of nGbK, the artist Folke Köbberling, who will contribute a facade installation as part of the conversion and the architects Nanni Grau and Frank Schönert from Hütten & Paläste with Christian Hiller will discuss the connection between conversion, after-use and sustainability.

Registration at: feature@archplus.net

Events

13.9.23, 5.00 pm

New space of the nGbK at Alexanderplatz

Type: Opening Location: nGbK am Alex

Tags

ARCH+ features 120: nGbK – Kunstumbau

Fr, 15.9.23, 17:30 Uhr Typ: Führung, Gespräch Sprachen: Deutsch Ort: nGbK am Alex Adresse: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Eintritt: frei Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst und ARCH+

Rundgang mit Eröffnung der Fassadenarbeit (17:30 Uhr) und Talk (19:00 Uhr)
mit Nanni Grau und Frank Schönert (Hütten & Paläste), Folke Köbberling (Künstlerin) und Annette Maechtel (nGbK)
Moderation: Christian Hiller (ARCH+, Co-Kurator des Deutschen Pavillons auf der Architekturbiennale in Venedig und der Ausstellung The Great Repair)

Die Verdrängung nicht-profitgetriebener Kulturräume schreitet voran. Nach einem Eigentümerwechsel verlor die neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst (nGbK) nach 30 Jahren ihre angestammten Räume in der Oranienstraße in Berlin. Trotz massiver Proteste musste einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Kunstvereine im Sommer 2022 seine Ausstellungsräume aufgeben. Anfang August hat sie landeseigene Räume in der Karl-Liebknecht-Straße am Alexanderplatz zur Zwischennutzung bezogen, die am 13. September eröffnet werden. Das Architekturbüro Hütten & Paläste baute dafür Gewerberäume in einem Plattenbau nachhaltig um. Ein rekonfigurables Raumkonzept verwandelt die circa 700 m2 große Fläche in Ausstellungs-, Veranstaltungs-, Arbeits- und Büroräume, die bereits mit Blick auf eine Nachnutzung durch künftige Kulturakteur*innen entworfen wurden. Eingriffe in den Bestand wurden dabei geringgehalten und räumliche Setzungen auf das Wesentliche reduziert. Für alle Neueinbauten wurden ökologische Materialien wie Strohplatten und Ton verwendet.

Nach einem Rundgang durch die neuen Räume diskutieren die Geschäftsführerin der nGbK Annette Maechtel, die Künstlerin Folke Köbberling, die im Rahmen des Umbaus eine Fassadeninstallation beitragen wird, sowie die Architekt*innen Nanni Grau und Frank Schönert von Hütten & Paläste mit Christian Hiller den Zusammenhang von Umbau, Nachnutzung und Nachhaltigkeit.

Anmeldung unter: feature@archplus.net

Rückblick

13.9.23, 17:00 Uhr

Neue Räume der nGbK am Alexanderplatz

Typ: Eröffnung Ort: nGbK am Alex

Tags