Municipal Kitchens

Sat, 29.6. – Sun, 18.8.24 Type: Exhibition, Workshops Languages: German, English Location: nGbK am Alex Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Admission: free

Municipal Kitchens reimagines communal eating in cities. The exhibition gathers works by international and local artists and collectives that expose the current state and injustice of food systems, as well as ones that propose new forms of community-based eating. The artworks are accompanied by a weekly event program and free-of-charge communal meals, transforming the nGbK space – previously a fast food restaurant in a former market hall – into a public kitchen.

Municipal Kitchens will bring together a multitude of artistic practices and positions around a central sculptural installation, the ‘kitchen table’, to develop visions for another form of food culture. The surrounding exhibition will feature works that interrogate the current state and injustice of food systems, as well as ones that develop visions for new forms of community-based eating. A project by Gatari Surya Kusuma, Åsa Sonjasdotter, and Daniela Zambrano Almidón breaks down the role of potatoes in international traditions. A Berlin-specific installation and cooking performances by the Cocina CoLaboratorio collective embodies the pluriverse of the “Milpa”, a Mexican crop-growing system. A film work by Franziska Pierwoss dissects the relevance of local supermarkets in times of inflation and the decay of the state. A wall-size installation has been produced by Myvillages, who extend the lumbung network they developed during documenta fifteen to Berlin to make and share drinks in support of local communities. A new tapestry work by Elia Nurvista unpicks the global networks and history of colonial palm oil trade. A video work by Mimi Ọnụọha challenges the narrative of progress by highlighting the discrepancy between production and distribution of food. Johann Arens’ collages from reclaimed display materials draw tender and abstract portraits of the London food venues they have been gathered from. An undercover audio tour of local supermarkets (for example the Kaufland branch downstairs from nGbK) by Alicja Rogalska introduces a disruption into daily shopping habits. Finally, a specially commissioned historical narrative of the nGbK site on the old Berlin Central Market Hall by writer Annett Gröschner and a collection of further texts allow visitors to explore the research context of the exhibition.

The exhibition space features a working kitchen run by food artist and curator Cherry Truluck and a central table installation created by Another Provision that hosts communal meals and events connecting international struggles and local action. These workshops, talks, performances and actions will be realized collaboratively by the participating artists and Berlin-based food justice organizations – among others Gutsgarten Hellersdorf, Satellit, Torhaus Koch Kollektiv, and Über den Tellerrand, who are working in different locations throughout the city. These co-facilitated events and meals will be free of charge and open to all, creating cumulative engagement with questions such as: How can we make kitchens part of public urban space and de-privatize the labor of cooking? How can food become a common good that connects residents from different communities? What if affordable, around-the-clock meals were available across our cities in spaces that include child care provisions? What if these spaces were community-led? How can food, a deeply personal and often divisive issue, be a source of community connection and collective action? In the process, new trans-disciplinary and international dialogues and solidarities will be sparked.

Artists: Alicja Rogalska, Another Provision, Cherry Truluck, Cocina CoLaboratorio, Elia Nurvista, Franziska Pierwoss, Gatari Surya Kusuma / Åsa Sonjasdotter / Daniela Zambrano Amidón, Johann Arens, Mimi Ọnụọha, Myvillages, Pierogi Princesses

nGbK work group: Johann Arens, Hanna Baumann, Miriam Lowack, Alicja Rogalska, Cherry Truluck

Future

Wed, 24.7.24, 5.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Guided tour with translation into German Sign Language

Type: Guided Tour Location: nGbK am Alex

Thu, 25.7.24, 5.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Pierogi Dreams

Type: Workshop, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Sat, 27.7.24, 11.00 am

Municipal Kitchens: Rural Undercurrents:

Day Trip

Type: Field trip, Communal meal

Sun, 28.7.24, 1.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Rural Undercurrents: 

Communal Meal

Type: Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Sat, 10.8.24, 1.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Papitas Tarpuycha – Earthing Potatoes 

Type: Workshop, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Sun, 18.8.24, 2.30 pm

Finissage Municipal Kitchens: Küfa (Küche für alle/Kitchen for all)

Type: Finissage, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Past

Sat, 20.7.24, 3.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Cooking Palm

Type: Workshop, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Fri, 12.7.24, 6.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: The Milpa is a Pluriversal Language: Celebration

Type: Gathering, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Fri, 5.7.24, 5.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: The Choice is Yours

Type: Discussion, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Fri, 28.6.24, 7.00 pm

Opening: Municipal Kitchens Launch!

Type: Opening, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Tags

Municipal Kitchens

Sa, 29.6. – So, 18.8.24 Typ: Ausstellung, Workshop Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch Ort: nGbK am Alex Adresse: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Eintritt: frei

Municipal Kitchens gestaltet gemeinschaftliches Essen in der Stadt neu. Die Ausstellung versammelt Arbeiten von internationalen und lokalen Künstler_innen und Kollektiven, die den aktuellen Zustand und die Ungerechtigkeit von Ernährungssystemen aufzeigen und darüber hinaus neue Formen für kommunal organisierte Mahlzeiten entwerfen. Die Kunstwerke werden von einem wöchentlichen Veranstaltungsprogramm und kostenlosen Gemeinschaftsessen begleitet, die die Räume der nGbK – zuvor ein Fastfood-Restaurant auf dem Gelände einer ehemaligen Markthalle – in eine öffentliche Küche verwandeln. 

Rund um eine skulpturale Küchentisch-Installation bringt Municipal Kitchens eine Vielzahl künstlerischer und aktivistischer Positionen und Praktiken zusammen, um eine andere Form der Esskultur zu entwickeln. Ein Projekt von Gatari Surya Kusuma, Åsa Sonjasdotter und Daniela Edith Zambrano beleuchtet die Rolle der Kartoffel in den Traditionen verschiedener Kulturen. Das Cocina CoLaboratorio zeigt eine neue Berlin-spezifische Installation mit Kochperformances zur „Milpa“, einem mexikanischen Landwirtschaftssystem. Eine Filmarbeit von Franziska Pierwoss fragt nach der Relevanz von Supermärkten in Zeiten von Inflation und Sozialabbau. Myvillages erweitern ihr während der documenta fifteen entwickeltes Lumbung-Netzwerk nach Berlin, wo sie eine wandfüllende Installation zeigen und Getränke in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Communities herstellen. Elia Nurvista zeigt eine Textilarbeit, die die Geschichte des kolonialen Handels mit Palmöl und seine weltweiten Netzwerke aufzeigt. Ein Video von Mimi Ọnụọha stellt Fortschrittsnarrative in Frage, indem es die Diskrepanz zwischen Produktion und Verteilung von Lebensmitteln hervorhebt. Johann Arens‘ Collagen aus wiederverwendeten Materialien zeichnen zarte und abstrakte Porträts der Londoner Nachbarschaftsimbisse und Kioske, aus denen sie stammen. Mit einer verdeckten Audiotour durch einen örtlichen Supermarkt (z.B. die Kaufland-Filiale im Erdgeschoss der nGbK) thematisiert Alicja Rogalska die Politik der Produktion, der Verteilung und des Konsums von Lebensmitteln. Schließlich laden eine eigens in Auftrag gegebene historische Erzählung der Schriftstellerin Annett Gröschner über die ehemalige Zentralmarkthalle am Alexanderplatz sowie eine Sammlung weiterer Texte zu ernährungspolitischen Fragen die Besucher_innen ein, in den Forschungsprozess hinter der Ausstellung einzutauchen.

Im Ausstellungsraum befinden sich eine funktionstüchtige Küche, die von der Künstlerin und Kuratorin Cherry Truluck betrieben wird, und eine zentrale Tischinstallation von Another Provision. Hier verbinden gemeinsame Mahlzeiten und Veranstaltungen internationale Positionen und lokale Aktionen. Die teilnehmenden Künstler_innen gestalten Workshops, Gespräche und Performances – gemeinsam mit Berliner Organisationen, die sich für Ernährungsgerechtigkeit einsetzen und bereits in der Stadt tätig sind, darunter u.a. Gutsgarten Hellersdorf (Prinzessinnengarten Kollektiv Berlin), Satellit, Torhaus Koch Kollektiv und Über den Tellerrand. Diese gemeinsam moderierten Veranstaltungen und Mahlzeiten sind kostenlos und offen für alle, um eine kumulative Auseinandersetzung mit Fragen wie diesen zu ermöglichen: Wie können Küchen Teil des öffentlichen Raumes werden und die Arbeit des Kochens entprivatisiert werden? Wie kann Nahrung ein Gemeingut werden, das Mitglieder verschiedener Communities zusammenbringt? Was wäre, wenn es rund um die Uhr ein bezahlbares Essensangebot gäbe, an Orten, die zugleich Kinderbetreuung anbieten? Was, wenn diese Orte gemeinschaftlich organisiert wären? Wie kann Essen, eine sehr persönliche und häufig polarisierende Angelegenheit, Menschen zusammenbringen und zu kollektivem Handeln anregen? Auf diese Weise können neue, transdisziplinäre und internationale Dialoge und Solidaritäten entstehen.

Künstler_innen: Alicja Rogalska, Another Provision, Cherry Truluck, Cocina CoLaboratorio, Elia Nurvista, Franziska Pierwoss, Gatari Surya Kusuma / Åsa Sonjasdotter / Daniela Zambrano Amidón, Johann Arens, Mimi Ọnụọha, Myvillages, Pierogi Princesses

nGbK-Arbeitsgruppe: Johann Arens, Hanna Baumann, Miriam Lowack, Alicja Rogalska, Cherry Truluck

Vorschau

Fr, 28.6.24, 19:00 Uhr

Eröffnung: Municipal Kitchens Launch!

Typ: Eröffnung Ort: nGbK am Alex

Tags