Municipal Kitchens: The Milpa is a Pluriversal Language: Celebration

Fri, 12.7.24, 6.00 pm Type: Gathering, Communal meal Languages: English, Spanish, German Location: nGbK am Alex Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Admission: free

With whisper translation into English and German

Mexican collective Cocina CoLaboratorio is coming together with the Berlin project space SATELLIT. The Milpa Pluriverse Calendar engages with local harvest calendar issues in the Barnimkiez neighborhood: Pluriversal languages of the Milpa intersect with Berlin-Brandenburgian and European seasonality challenges.

Milpa is an ancestral agricultural system, a consortium of various crops like maize, beans, squash, chilies and tomatoes are cultivated symbiotically. It is highly productive, sustainable, and resilient. For Cocina CoLaboratorio, milpa also represents a way of thinking and acting within a pluriverse—a world where diverse forms of knowledge, being, and doing are embraced, fostering deeper connections between individuals, their environments, and communities.

Gathered around the kitchen table of Municipal Kitchens at nGbK, Cocina CoLaboratorio and SATELLIT will discuss the Milpa Pluriverse compass and showcase produce from their previous practical and artistic exchanges on the seasonality of vegetables and fruits, as well as collective methods of food production and preservation. Slow cooking techniques and ideas will be shared, culminating in a communal meal.

About Cocina Colaboratorio

The kitchen is a social place, a com­mon place to gather and connect. It is a place to share not only food, but stories, ideas, aspirations and initiatives. Colaboratory Kitchen is an ongoing mobile and on-site project that brings farmers, scientists, creatives and cooks together around the kitchen table to connect, exchange knowledge and prototype new trans-disciplinary solutions to farming; a test ground for ideas that conciliate land restoration, conservation, food production and better livelihood in farming communities. A response to the lack of connection between disciplines that are key for new alternatives towards more sustain­able and just futures.

About Satellit:

SATELLIT  is a place for art and cooking, sustainability and community in the Barnimkiez near Volkspark Friedrichshain. It is a gathering spot where  a variety of people, ideas, and stories can come together. Local, self-organized, and using artistic means, the SATELLITE seeks to address the social and climatic challenges of our time.

Note on accessibility from the work group Municipal Kitchens:

Cooking and eating together is a shared language all of its own, so if you don’t feel confident with the spoken language(s) available at this event, please know you are still so welcome.  We have multiple ways of sharing and we look forward to greeting you. We want everyone to be able to access our events, if there are any barriers to you joining us that we haven’t already tackled, please get in touch and we will do our best to support you. This includes providing childcare at daytime events (we will need at least one week’s notice).

Contact: anmeldung@ngbk.de

Future

Sat, 20.7.24, 3.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Cooking Palm

Type: Workshop, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Thu, 25.7.24, 5.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Pierogi Dreams

Type: Workshop, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Sat, 27.7.24, 11.00 am

Municipal Kitchens: Rural Undercurrents:

Day Trip

Type: Field trip, Communal meal

Sun, 28.7.24, 1.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Rural Undercurrents: 

Communal Meal

Type: Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Sat, 10.8.24, 1.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: Papitas Tarpuycha – Earthing Potatoes 

Type: Workshop, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Sun, 18.8.24, 2.30 pm

Finissage Municipal Kitchens: Küfa (Küche für alle/Kitchen for all)

Type: Finissage, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Past

Fri, 5.7.24, 5.00 pm

Municipal Kitchens: The Choice is Yours

Type: Discussion, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Fri, 28.6.24, 7.00 pm

Opening: Municipal Kitchens Launch!

Type: Opening, Communal meal Location: nGbK am Alex

Related

Municipal Kitchens

Sat, 29.6. – Sun, 18.8.24 Type: Exhibition, Workshops Location: nGbK am Alex

Municipal Kitchens: The Milpa is a Pluriversal Language: Celebration

Fr, 12.7.24, 18:00 Uhr Typ: Treffen, Gemeinschaftsessen Sprachen: Englisch, Spanisch, Deutsch Ort: nGbK am Alex Adresse: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 11/13, 10178 Berlin Eintritt: frei

Mit Flüsterübersetzung ins Deutsche und Englische

Das mexikanische Kollektiv Cocina CoLaboratorio kommt mit dem Berliner Projektraum SATELLIT zusammen. Der Milpa Pluriverse Calender trifft auf lokale Erntekalender-Fragen im Barnimkiez: Pluriversal languages of the Milpa meet Berlin-Brandenburgian and European seasonality issues! 

Milpa ist ein traditionelles System der Landwirtschaft, in dem unterschiedliche Nutzpflanzen wie Mais, Bohnen, Kürbis, aber auch Chilis und Tomaten symbiotisch zusammen kultiviert werden. Es ist eine sehr produktive wie auch nachhaltige und widerstandsfähige Methode der Landwirtschaft. Für Cocina CoLaboratorio verkörpert Milpa aber auch die Denk- und Handlungsweise eines Pluriversums – einer Welt, in der vielfältige Formen von Wissen, Sein und Handeln gelebt werden und die tiefere Verbindungen des Einzelnen zu Umwelt und Gemeinschaften fördert.

Um den Küchentisch von Municipal Kitchens in der nGbK versammelt, erörtern Cocina CoLaboratorio und SATELLIT den Milpa-Pluriverse-Kompass und zeigen mitgebrachte Erzeugnisse aus ihrem vorangegangenen praktischen, künstlerischen Austausch rund um die Saisonalität von Gemüse und Obst – und kollektive Methoden der Lebensmittelherstellung und -konservierung. Es werden Techniken und Ideen zu Slow Cooking ausgetauscht. Anschließend wird gemeinsam gegessen!

Über Cocina Colaboratorio

Die Küche ist ein sozialer Ort, ein gemeinsamer Treffpunkt zum Zusammenkommen und Verbinden. Sie ist ein Ort, an dem nicht nur Essen, sondern auch Geschichten, Ideen, Bestrebungen und Initiativen geteilt werden. Die Colaboratory Kitchen ist ein fortlaufendes mobiles wie auch ortsgebundenes Projekt, das Landwirte, Wissenschaftler, Kreative und Köche rund um den Küchentisch zusammenbringt, um sich zu vernetzen, Wissen auszutauschen und neue transdisziplinäre Lösungen für die Landwirtschaft zu erproben; ein Experimentierfeld für Ideen, die Landwiederherstellung, Naturschutz, Nahrungsmittelproduktion und ein besseres Leben in landwirtschaftlichen Gemeinschaften miteinander in Einklang bringen. Eine Antwort auf den Mangel an Verbindung zwischen Disziplinen, die entscheidend sind für neue Alternativen - hin zu nachhaltigeren und gerechteren Zukünften.

Über den Projektraum Satellit:

Der SATELLIT ist ein Ort für Kunst und Kochen, Nachhaltigkeit und Nachbarschaft im Barnimkiez am Volkspark Friedrichshain. Er ist eine Gast-Stätte, in der sich vielfältige Personen, Ideen und Geschichten versammeln können. Lokal, selbstorganisiert und mit künstlerischen Mitteln versucht der SATELLIT, den sozialen und klimatischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu begegnen.

Hinweis zur Zugänglichkeit von der AG Municipal Kitchens:

Gemeinsames Kochen und Essen ist eine ganz eigene Sprache. Du bist sehr herzlich willkommen, auch wenn Du diese Sprachen wenig sprichst. Wir werden viele Möglichkeiten haben, uns auszutauschen. Wir freuen uns auf Dich! Wir möchten, dass alle an unseren Veranstaltungen teilnehmen können. Melde Dich gerne, wenn es für Dich Hindernisse gibt. Zum Beispiel, wenn Du Kinderbetreuung brauchst (bitte eine Woche vorher bei uns melden). 

Kontakt: anmeldung@ngbk.de

Vorschau

Sa, 20.7.24, 15:00 Uhr

Municipal Kitchens: Cooking Palm

Typ: Workshop, Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

Do, 25.7.24, 17:00 Uhr

Municipal Kitchens: Pierogi Dreams

Typ: Workshop, Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

Sa, 27.7.24, 11:00 Uhr

Municipal Kitchens: Rural Undercurrents: Tagesausflug

Typ: Ausflug, Gemeinschaftsessen

So, 28.7.24, 13:00 Uhr

Municipal Kitchens: Rural Undercurrents: Gemeinsames Essen

Typ: Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

Sa, 10.8.24, 13:00 Uhr

Municipal Kitchens: Papitas Tarpuycha – Earthing Potatoes 

Typ: Workshop, Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

So, 18.8.24, 14:30 Uhr

Finissage Municipal Kitchens: Küfa (Küche für alle)

Typ: Finissage, Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

Rückblick

Fr, 5.7.24, 17:00 Uhr

Municipal Kitchens: Du hast die Wahl

Typ: Diskussion, Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

Fr, 28.6.24, 19:00 Uhr

Eröffnung: Municipal Kitchens Launch!

Typ: Eröffnung, Gemeinschaftsessen Ort: nGbK am Alex

Verwandt

Municipal Kitchens

Sa, 29.6. – So, 18.8.24 Typ: Ausstellung, Workshops Ort: nGbK am Alex